E-Flux Press Release


Ballroom Marfa is pleased to announce Tierra. Sangre. Oro., an exhibition envisioned by artist Rafa Esparza. The program will include new installation, performance, and sculptural work from Esparza alongside collaborations and contributions from artists Carmen Argote, Nao Bustamante, Beatriz Cortez, Timo Fahler, Eamon Ore-Giron, and Star Montana.







 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Tierra. Sangre. Oro

Ballroom Marfa, Marfa (United States)

25.08.2017 - 18.03.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français




Deutsch






Esparza’s work manifests primarily through performance and sculpture, in a territory where the two mediums combine and hybridize. The artist uses adobe brick-building as a process-centered site for personal, cultural, ecological, and political investigation.


In residence in Marfa from June through August, Esparza will produce new work and conceive of a site-specific installation that is particular to the landscape and cultural context of the Big Bend region and northern Mexico, where adobe building is prevalent.


For this project Esparza will transform Ballroom’s architecture using the adobe bricks that are central to his work. While making these interventions, the artist will explore, in his words, “the visibility of Brown people in Marfa.” Esparza will work with his father, who taught the artist how to make adobe, as well as with people from his community and local adobe craftsmen to produce bricks and install the project.


Esparza’s adobe architecture provides the ground for presentations by the artists he has invited to join him in Marfa as he “expands the idea of a Brown laboratory.” New and existing work will be presented amidst structural additions to Ballroom’s facade, galleries, and courtyard, creating spaces for the artist’s “laboratories for dialoguing, thinking, working and making together with my peers.”


Esparza addresses and excavates the history of colonialism; labor and economic value scales; queer culture and masculinity; as well as personal and familial legacy. He sets traditional materials, inherited processes, and ephemeral choreographies up against institutional structures and the historical narratives of Western sculpture, land art, and performance. The exhibition is a continuation of Ballroom Marfa’s mission to commission internationally-relevant artworks and performances that respond to and engage with our community and environment.


Tierra. Sangre. Oro. is organized by Ballroom Marfa’s curator and interim director, Laura Copelin.













 







Rafa Esparza, HERE, 2017. Adobe bricks. Photo: Paul Marcus Rodriguez. Image courtesy the artist.





Exhibition 25 August 2017 - 18 March 2018. Ballroom Marfa, 108 East San Antonio Street - Marfa, TX 79843 (United States). Tel: 432 729 3600.

Gallery Hours: Wednesday - Saturday 10a - 6p Sunday 10a - 3p.


 











 





 



























 





 











Yokohama Triennale 2017, Yokohama Museum of Art, Yokohama

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

Rafa Esparza, HERE, 2017. Adobe bricks. Photo: Paul Marcus Rodriguez. Image courtesy the artist.

Expositions à venir

Tierra. Sangre. Oro

Ballroom Marfa, Marfa (U.S.A)

25.08.2017 - 18.03.2018

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux

 

Ballroom Marfa préssente Tierra. Sangre. Oro, une exposition organisée par l'artiste Rafa Esparza, qui intègre de nouvelles œuvres - installations, performances et sculptures - d'Esparza accompagnées de collaborations et contributions des artistes Carmen Argote, Nao Bustamante, Beatriz Cortez, Timo Fahler, Eamon Ore-Giron et Star Montana.
















 


















































English





Le travail d'Esparza se manifeste principalement à travers la performance et la sculpture, dans un domaine où les deux médiums se combinent et s'hybrident. L'artiste utilise le bâtiment adobe en brique comme un site centré sur le processus pour des recherches personnelles, culturelles, écologiques et politiques. La brique adobe est une brique durcie au soleil, fabriquée à partir de terre essentiellement argileuse, délayée et mélangée à de la paille ou de l'herbe sèche hachée.


En résidence à Marfa de juin à août, Esparza produira de nouveaux travaux et concevra une installation in situ particulière au paysage et au contexte culturel de la région de Big Bend et du nord du Mexique, où le bâtiment d'adobe est répandu.

Pour ce projet, Esparza transformera l'architecture de Ballroom en utilisant les briques adobe qui sont au cœur de son travail. En faisant ces interventions, l'artiste explorera, sous ses mots, «la visibilité des gens de couleur à Marfa». Esparza travaillera avec son père, qui a enseigné à l'artiste comment produire la brique adobe, ainsi qu'avec des gens de sa communauté et des artisans locaux pour produire des briques et installer le projet.

L'architecture adobe d'Esparza offre un terrain pour les présentations des artistes qu'il a invités à se joindre à lui à Marfa pour "élargir l'idée d'un laboratoire Brown". Des travaux nouveaux et existants seront présentés lors des ajouts structurels à la façade, aux galeries et dans la cour de Ballroom, créant des espaces à l’artiste afin de dialoguer, réfléchir, travailler et réagir en même temps que ses pairs.

Esparza explore et fouille l'histoire du colonialisme: les échelles de la valeur du travail et de l'économie, des cultures étranges et la masculinité ainsi que l'héritage personnel et familial. Il définit les matériaux traditionnels, les processus hérités et les chorégraphies éphémères contre les structures institutionnelles et les récits historiques de la sculpture occidentale, du Land art et de la performance. L'exposition constitue une suite de la mission de Ballroom Marfa pour la commande d’œuvres d'art et de performances internationales qui répondent à sa communauté et à son environnement.

Tierra. Sangre. Oro.
est organisé par la commissaire de Ballroom Marfa et la directrice intérimaire, Laura Copelin.





 











Tierra. Sangre. Oro. Ballroom Marfa, Marfa

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. Tous droits réservés

ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

Rafa Esparza, HERE, 2017. Adobe bricks. Photo: Paul Marcus Rodriguez. Image courtesy the artist.





Rafa Esparza, HERE, 2017. Adobe bricks. Photo: Paul Marcus Rodriguez. Image courtesy the artist.

Exposition du 25 août 2017 au 18 mars 2018. Ballroom Marfa, 108 East San Antonio Street - Marfa, TX 79843 (Etats-Unis).  Tel: 432 729 3600. Ouverture du mercredi au samedi de 10h à 18h, le dimanche de 10h à 15h.