International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2014


Tatiana Trouvé, I tempi doppi

MUSEION of modern and contemporary art Bolzano (Italy)

24.05 - 07.09.2014

Précédent Suivant

Français




Tatiana Trouvé, I tempi doppi, MUSEION of modern and contemporary art Bolzano

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition May 24 - September 7, 2014. MUSEION of modern and contemporary art Bolzano, Via Dante 6 - 39100 Bolzano (Italy). Tel.:: +39 (0)4 71 22 34 13. Opening hours : Tuesday to Sunday, 10 a.m.-6 p.m.











E-Flux Press Release


Museion is proud to present Tatiana Trouvé's first solo show in an Italian museum, I tempi doppi. The Italian-born artist, who lives and works in Paris, is known for installations designed to draw the visitor into haunting situations that oscillate between the real, the imaginary and the illusory, and question our sense of space and time. The title of the exhibition alludes to the intrinsic duality of the artist's work, where the rational and the irrational, the mind and the senses, are inextricably linked. The fourth floor of the museum hosts the large installation 350 Points towards Infinity (2009), in which 350 slender plumb lines hanging from the ceiling mysteriously appear to be pulled in different directions. The arresting presence of the work, which evokes a shower of metal raindrops, hints at the concealed presence of some kind of chaotic forcefield. Indeed Trouvé's works often conjure up alternative worlds, enabling visitors to envision hidden, parallel dimensions, and experience the unsettling feeling that things are not quite as they seem.



Tatiana Trouvé, 350 Points Towards Infinity, 2009. Installation view, A Stay Between Enclosure and Space, Migros Museum fur Gegenwartskunst, Zurich, 2009. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, Courtesy Johann König Gallery, Perrotin Gallery and Gagosian Gallery.

Tatiana Trouvé, 350 Points Towards Infinity, 2009. Installation view, A Stay Between Enclosure and Space, Migros Museum fur Gegenwartskunst, Zurich, 2009. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, Courtesy Johann König Gallery, Perrotin Gallery and Gagosian Gallery.


Many of the artist's pieces reflect her ongoing fascination with architecture, and when working on an exhibition she interacts closely with the structural elements of the venue, opening up new dimensions in our perception of the space. This is the case of the work From here I disappear, a tantalising series of plexiglass doors that form a threshold we can only cross mentally, yet that opens a vista of multiple possibilities. Another theme that characterises Tatiana Trouvé's work is the exploration of time, and forms of temporality. The exhibition includes the work I cento titoli, set to change its title every year for one hundred years, starting in 1968, the year of the artist's birth. The piece is thus both physically present, in the form of two hefty cast bronze suitcases, and intriguingly projected into the future, containing the promise of times, venues and viewers to come. MUSEION's programme thus continues with its exploration of the languages of contemporary sculpture, highlighting this artist's extraordinary ability to draw visitors into a universe of possibilities: an opportunity not only for visitors but also for the museum itself, as an institution in constant growth and transformation.

Curated by Letizia Ragaglia

Archives 1er semestre 2014

Tatiana Trouvé, I tempi doppi

MUSEION of modern and contemporary art Bolzano (Italie)

24.05 - 07.09.2014

Précédent Suivant

English



Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Le Museion présente la première exposition personnelle de Tatiana Trouvé dans un musée italien, I tempi doppi. L'artiste d'origine italienne, qui vit et travaille à Paris, est connue pour ses installations destinées à attirer le visiteur dans des situations obsédantes qui oscillent entre le réel, l'imaginaire et l'illusoire, et interroge notre sens de l'espace et du temps. Le titre de l'exposition fait référence à la dualité intrinsèque de l'œuvre de l'artiste, où le rationnel et l'irrationnel, l'esprit et les sens, sont inextricablement liés. Le quatrième étage du musée accueille la grande installation 350 Points towards Infinity (2009), dans laquelle 350 fines lignes de plomb suspendues au plafond paraissent mystérieusement attirées dans des directions différentes. La fascinante présence de l’oeuvre, qui évoque une pluie de gouttes de métal, fait allusion à la présence invisible d'une sorte de champ de force chaotique. En effet les œuvres de Tatiana Trouvé évoquent souvent des mondes alternatifs, permettant aux visiteurs d'imaginer des dimensions parallèles cachées, et d’éprouver le sentiment troublant que les choses ne sont pas tout à fait comme elles semblent.













De nombreuses oeuvres de l'artiste reflètent sa fascination continue pour l'architecture, et quand elle prépare une exposition, elle interagit étroitement avec les éléments structurels de la salle, ouvrant de nouvelles dimensions à notre perception de l'espace. C'est le cas de l'œuvre From here I disappear, un ensemble de portes attirantes en plexiglas qui forment un seuil qu’on ne peut traverser que mentalement, mais qui ouvre un panorama de multiples possibles. Un autre thème caractérisant le travail de Tatiana Trouvé est l'exploration du temps et les formes de la temporalité. L'exposition intègre la pièce I cento titoli, dont le titre doit changer chaque année pendant cent ans, à partir de 1968, l'année de la naissance de l'artiste. La pièce est donc à la fois physiquement présent, sous la forme de deux lourdes valises coulées en bronze, et curieusement projetée dans l'avenir, contenant la promesse de moments, de lieux et de visiteurs à venir. Le programme du MUSEION continue donc son exploration du vocabulaire de la sculpture contemporaine, mettant en lumière la capacité de cette artiste extraordinaire pour attirer des visiteurs vers de multiples pistes : une opportunité non seulement pour les visiteurs mais aussi pour le musée lui-même, en tant qu'institution en constante croissance et transformation.

Commissaire d’exposition : Letizia Ragaglia


© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. Tous droits réservés

Tatiana Trouvé, I tempi doppi, MUSEION of modern and contemporary art Bolzano Tatiana Trouvé, 350 Points Towards Infinity, 2009. Installation view, A Stay Between Enclosure and Space, Migros Museum fur Gegenwartskunst, Zurich, 2009. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, Courtesy Johann König Gallery, Perrotin Gallery and Gagosian Gallery.

Tatiana Trouvé, 350 Points Towards Infinity, 2009. Installation view, A Stay Between Enclosure and Space, Migros Museum fur Gegenwartskunst, Zurich, 2009. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, Courtesy Johann König Gallery, Perrotin Gallery and Gagosian Gallery.


Exposition du 24 mai au 7 septembre 2014.

MUSEION of modern and contemporary art Bolzano, Via Dante 6 - 39100 Bolzano (Italie). Tél.: +39 (0)4 71 22 34 13. Ouverture du mardi au dimanche de 10h à 18h.