International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2016


Ryoichi Kurokawa, unfold

FACT, Liverpool (United Kingdom)

11.03 - 12.06.2016

Précédent Suivant

Français






Art agenda Press Release


unfold is a major new commission by acclaimed Japanese artist Ryoichi Kurokawa, exploring the birth and  evolution of stars in a ground-breaking, immersive audio-visual installation. This unique sensory experience will be part of the artist's first ever solo exhibition in the UK, premiering at FACT (Foundation for Art and Creative Technology), Liverpool.

For the past ten years, Ryoichi Kurokawa has excelled in both the electronic music and visual arts scenes, mixing video, audio field recordings, graphics and animations to produce stunning audio-visual installations and live performances. His vast time-based pieces create mesmerising environments: spectacular, synchronised experiences where sound and image become a single unit.













 





























Ryoichi Kurokawa, unfold, FACT Liverpool

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition from March 11 to June 12, 2016. FACT Liverpool, 88 Wood St – Liverpool L1 (United Kingdom). Hours: Tuesday-Sunday 11am-6pm.





 





 



























 





 











Kurokawa's exhibition at FACT will feature the world premiere of unfold, which offers visitors an artistic yet scientific representation of how the solar system was born, and how our galaxy might evolve. This new body of work is the result of a unique cross-disciplinary dialogue between science and art, transforming scientific data surrounding the formation and evolution of stars and galaxies, into sounds, images and vibrations.

For unfold, Kurokawa has collaborated closely with Vincent Minier, astrophysicist at the Institute of Research into the Fundamental Laws of the Universe‎ (CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay). The artist was granted unprecedented access to the facility's scientific data which he used to create striking 3D representations of space, including interpretations of how star-clusters form, and of the birth of sun-like stars. With a focus on the sensorial and the experiential, and inspired by the latest discoveries in the field of astrophysics, this beautifully immersive environment transports us to the depths of the universe. unfold brings us face to face with a reading of the secrets of its inception, and by extension, our own beginning.

Also presented is unfold.mod, which explores the raw data taken from space observation through a series of audio interpretations and code-based findings, alongside both scientific and artistic images. These modules illustrate the methods which exist across unfold: taking data and visualisations from astrophysics and creating artistic interpretations of their findings by applying the same scientific logic, processes and methodologies as the scientists themselves.


Meanwhile in Gallery 2 at FACT, constrained surface exemplifies Ryoichi Kurokawa's approach to art-making and his experimentation with the qualities of synaesthesia, a core part of his work. constrained surface delivers a synaesthetic experience through its unison of light, colour, sound and movement, as well as exploring the surprising possibilities of what can be experienced within the boundaries of a frame.

By playing with the confines of a screen, almost in the way a painter would play with the limits of a canvas, this work highlights the way in which Kurokawa deftly uses digital methods and tools (as well as commercial technology) to articulate his work. He does so whilst ensuring that the technological elements never overshadow the expression within the piece, but rather enhance the artistic experience, creating moments of surprise and wonder.


unfold is co-commissioned between FACT, Stereolux and University of Salford Art Collection, with the support of CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay, Arcadi and DICRéAM.
Produced by Studio Ryoichi Kurokawa.





Based on scientific data from CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay (Galaxy collision).

Courtesy of studio Ryoichi Kurokawa.


Based on scientific data from CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay (Galaxy collision). Courtesy of studio Ryoichi Kurokawa.

Archives 1er semestre 2016

Ryoichi Kurokawa, unfold

FACT, Liverpool (Royaume-Uni)

11.03 - 12.06.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse


unfold est une nouvelle commande majeure du célèbre artiste japonais Ryoichi Kurokawa, qui explore la naissance et l'évolution des étoiles dans une installation audio-visuelle immersive inédite. Cette expérience sensorielle unique fait partie de la première exposition individuelle de l'artiste au Royaume-Uni s’ouvrant au FACT (Fondation pour l'art et la technologie créative) deLiverpool.

Durant les dix dernières années, Ryoichi Kurokawa a excellé tant dans la musique électronique et les arts visuels de la scène, le mixage vidéo, les enregistrements audio, les graphiques et les animations pour produire des installations audiovisuelles époustouflants et des performances. Ses vastes pièces temporelles créent des environnements hypnotisants : des expériences synchronisées spectaculaires où le son et l'image deviennent une seule unité.













































English




L'exposition de Kurokawa à FACT présent la première mondiale de unfold, qui offre aux visiteurs une représentation artistique et scientifique de la manière dont le système solaire est né, et comment notre galaxie pourrait évoluer. Ce nouveau corpus de travail est le résultat d'un dialogue unique interdisciplinaire entre la science et l'art, transformant les données scientifiques entourant la formation et l'évolution des étoiles et des galaxies en sons, images et vibrations.

Pour unfold, Kurokawa a étroitement collaboré avec Vincent Minier, astrophysicien à l'Institut de recherche sur les lois fondamentales de l'Univers (CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay). L'artiste s’est vu autoriser un accès sans précédent aux données scientifiques , dont il s’est servi pour créer de frappantes représentations 3D de l'espace, y compris les interprétations de la manière dont se forment les amas d'étoiles, et la naissance des étoiles semblables au soleil. Privilégiant le sensoriel et l'expérience, et inspiré par les dernières découvertes dans le domaine de l'astrophysique, cet environnement magnifiquement immersif nous transporte dans les profondeurs de l'univers. unfold nous met face à face avec une lecture des secrets de sa création, et par extension, de notre histoire.

Est également présenté unfold.mod, qui explore les données brutes tirées de l'observation de l'espace à travers une série d'interprétations audio et des résultats à base de codes, aux côtés d’images scientifiques et artistiques. Ces modules illustrent le dispositif utilisé pour unfold : prendre des données et des visualisations de l'astrophysique et créer des interprétations artistiques de leurs conclusions en appliquant les mêmes logiques scientifiques, processus et méthodologies que les scientifiques eux-mêmes.

Parallèlement dans la Galerie 2 à FACT, constrained surface illustre la démarche de Ryoichi Kurokawa envers la création artistique et son expérimentation des qualités de synesthésie, une partie essentielle de son travail. constrained surface offre une expérience synesthésique grâce à son unisson de lumière, de couleur, de son et de mouvement, et explore également les possibilités surprenantes de ce qui peut être expérimenté dans les limites d'un cadre.

En jouant avec les limites d'un écran, presqu’à la manière dont un peintre jouerait avec les limites d'une toile, ce travail met en évidence la manière habile dont Kurokawa utilise les méthodes et les outils numériques (ainsi que la technologie commerciale) pour articuler son travail. Il le fait tout en veillant à ce que les éléments technologiques n’éclipsent jamais l'expression au sein de l’oeuvre, mais améliore plutôt l'expérience artistique, créant des moments de surprise et d'émerveillement.

unfold est une commande de FACT, Stereolux et de l'Université de Salford Art Collection, avec le soutien du CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay, Arcadi et de DICRéAM. Production du Studio Ryoichi Kurokawa.


























Ryoichi Kurokawa, unfold, FACT, Liverpool

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. Tous droits réservés

Exposition du 11 mars au 12 juin 2016. FACT Liverpool, 88 Wood St – Liverpool L1 (Royaume-Uni). Ouverture du mardi au dimanche de 11h à 18h.




 





 



























 





 











Based on scientific data from CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay (Galaxy collision).

Courtesy of studio Ryoichi Kurokawa.


Based on scientific data from CEA Irfu, Paris-Saclay (Galaxy collision). Courtesy of studio Ryoichi Kurokawa.