International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2016


Philippe Van Snick

Grazer Kunstverein, Graz (Austria)

12.03 - 22.05.2016

Précédent Suivant

Français
Deutsch






E-Flux Press Release


The Grazer Kunstverein kicks off its 30th anniversary program with a large solo exhibition by Belgian artist Philippe Van Snick (Ghent, 1946) as a continuation of its exploration into notions of social abstraction. The exhibition spans almost five decades and traces developments in the artist's highly consistent body of work, best known for its post-minimalist approach to painting. The exhibition is the artist's first in Austria.














 





























Philippe Van Snick, Grazer Kunstverein, Graz

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition from March 12 to May 22, 2016. Grazer Kunstverein, Palais Trauttmansdorff, Burggasse 4 - 8010 Graz (Austria). Tel.: +43 316 834 141. Hours: Wednesday-Sunday 11am-6pm.



 





 



























 





 











Philippe Van Snick, Dag & Nacht, Maankaart (Day & Night, Map of the moon), 1985. Courtesy Collection Koen Deprez.

Philippe Van Snick, Dag & Nacht, Maankaart (Day & Night, Map of the moon), 1985. Courtesy Collection Koen Deprez.


In the '70s, Van Snick developed an interest in systematic methodologies that lead him to formulate a consistent color and numeral system. This allowed him to create a steady body of work in the following decades. For the artist, light and color are both scientific, objective descriptions as well as subjective codes inspired by our everyday experience. The concept of time, specifically the dualism of day and night and the lightness and darkness that signifies its passing, is often explored in works that underline the experiential relationship between the viewer and his/her surroundings. By finding itself within the realm between painting and sculpture, the predominant concerns of modernism are invoked by questioning the autonomy of the artwork and geometric abstraction as a universal language.

The artist's early conceptual photography and film works form the backbone for the exhibition in which everyday observations are abstracted and formalized.



Philippe Van Snick's solo exhibition is co-organized with De Hallen Haarlem (Netherlands) where a complementary show of his work is currently on display (January 16–May 16, 2016). For the occasion of these exhibitions, Van Snick has produced an artist's edition, which can be acquired at both institutions.

Archives 1er semestre 2016

Philippe Van Snick

Grazer Kunstverein, Graz (Autriche)

12.03 - 22.05.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Le Grazer Kunstverein débute le programme de son 30e anniversaire avec une grande exposition personnelle de l'artiste belge Philippe Van Snick (Gand, 1946) comme une continuation de son exploration dans les notions d'abstraction sociale. L'exposition couvre près de cinq décennies et retrace l'évolution du corpus très cohérent  du travail de l'artiste, mieux connu pour son approche post-minimaliste en peinture. L'exposition est la première de l'artiste en Autriche.













































English
Deutsch




Dans les années 70, Van Snick a développé un intérêt pour les méthodes systématiques qui le conduisent à formuler une couleur uniforme et un système numérique. Cela lui a permis de créer un corpus de travail régulier dans les décennies suivantes. Pour l'artiste, la lumière et la couleur sont à la fois des descriptions objectives scientifiques ainsi que des codes subjectifs inspirés par notre expérience quotidienne. La notion de temps, en particulier le dualisme du jour et de la nuit et la lumière et l'obscurité qui signifie son passage, est souvent explorée dans des œuvres qui soulignent la relation empirique entre le spectateur et son/ses environs. En se situant dans le domaine de la peinture et la sculpture, les préoccupations dominantes du modernisme sont invoquées en remettant en cause l'autonomie de l'œuvre et l'abstraction géométrique comme un langage universel.

Les précoces oeuvres conceptuelles photographiques et cinématographiques de l'artiste constituent l'épine dorsale de l'exposition dans laquelle les observations quotidiennes sont extraites et formalisées.


























Philippe Van Snick, Grazer Kunstverein, Graz

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. Tous droits réservés

Exposition du 12 mars au 22 mai 2016. Grazer Kunstverein, Palais Trauttmansdorff, Burggasse 4 - 8010 Graz (Autriche). Tél.: +43 316 834 141. Ouverture du mercredi au dimanche de 11h à 18h.





 



























 





 











Philippe Van Snick, Dag & Nacht, Maankaart (Day & Night, Map of the moon), 1985. Courtesy Collection Koen Deprez.

Philippe Van Snick, Dag & Nacht, Maankaart (Day & Night, Map of the moon), 1985. Courtesy Collection Koen Deprez.


L’exposition personnelle de Philippe Van Snick est co-organisée avec De Hallen Haarlem (Pays-Bas), où une exposition complémentaire de son travail est actuellement exposée (du 16 janvier au 16 mai 2016). A l'occasion de ces expositions, Van Snick a produit l'édition d'un livre d’artiste, qui peut être acquis dans les deux établissements.