International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2015


City Walks, An Exhibition on Cities in Transformation

Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm (Sweden)

04.02 - 05.04.2015

Précédent Suivant

Français




City Walks, Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. All Rights Reserved

E-flux Press Release


This spring's first exhibition at Bonniers Konsthall explores the city as a phenomenon. Six artists encounter urban centres from across the globe. The city is portrayed as a place for interpersonal meetings, historical power games, and global politics.

City Walks involves artists who work with the notion of how it is to live and maintain oneself in a city. Jesper Just, Sophie Calle, Hala Elkoussy, Carlos Garaicoa, William Kentridge and Lisa Torell are all interested in how the urban space is perceived and experienced, and view the urban settings as a collection of powers acting upon the individual.













Exhibition 4 February - 5 April 2015.  Bonniers Konsthall, Torsgatan 19 – 11390 Stockholm (Sweden). Tel. : +46 (0)8 736 42 48. Hours: Wednesday noon-8pm, Thursday-Sunday noon-5pm.







 





 











Cairo's winding streets, which bear witness to past European colonial rule, is the base of Hala Elkoussy´s work. We encounter a replica of Paris located a continent away from Europe in Intercourses by Jesper Just. Johannesburg serves as the backdrop for the tale of South Africa's political history in the work of William Kentridge. Sophie Calle visits the Bronx in New York City in the early 1980s, far from its contemporary status as a tourist destination. Havana's ruin-like architecture, a direct result of Cuba's economic deadlock, serves as the foundation of visionary models, sculptures, and collages by Carlos Garaicoa. The current worn-down condition of the houses built during the Million Programme, implemented in mid-1960s Sweden to build one million new homes, is transformed in a poetic close reading by Lisa Torell.




Jesper Just, Intercourses, 2013. Film still. Photo courtesy the artist and Galleri Nicolai Wallner.

Archives 1er semestre 2015

City Walks, An Exhibition on Cities in Transformation

Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm (Suède)

04.02 - 05.04.2015

Précédent Suivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


La première exposition de ce printemps à la Bonniers Konsthall explore la ville comme un phénomène. Six artistes parcourent les centres urbains du monde entier. La ville est dépeinte comme un lieu de rencontres interpersonnelles, de jeux de pouvoir historiques et de politiques mondiales.

























English




Exposition du 4 février au 5 avril 2015. Bonniers Konsthall, Torsgatan 19 – 11390 Stockholm (Suède). Tél. : +46 (0)8 736 42 48. Ouverture le mercredi de 12h à 20h, du jeudi au dimanche de 12h à 17h.






 





 











© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. Tous droits réservés

City Walks, Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm

Jesper Just, Intercourses, 2013. Film still. Photo courtesy the artist and Galleri Nicolai Wallner.







City Walks implique des artistes qui travaillent avec les modes de vie et de self-préservation dans une ville. Jesper Just, Sophie Calle, Hala Elkoussy, Carlos Garaicoa, William Kentridge et Lisa Torell sont tous intéressés à la manière dont l'espace urbain est perçu et vécu, et envisagent les sites urbains comme un ensemble de pouvoirs agissant sur l'individu.


Les rues sinueuses du Caire, qui témoignent de la domination coloniale européenne passée, fournissent la base du travail de Hala Elkoussy. Nous découvrons une réplique de Paris située sur un autre continent loin de l'Europe dans Intercourses par Jesper Just. Johannesburg sert de toile de fond au récit sur l'histoire politique de l'Afrique du Sud dans l’oeuvre de William Kentridge. Sophie Calle visite le Bronx à New York au début des années 1980, loin de son statut contemporain en tant que destination touristique. L'architecture de La Havane ressemblant à des ruines, conséquence directe de l'impasse économique de Cuba, sert de base aux modèles visionnaires, sculptures, et collages de Carlos Garaicoa. La condition actuelle de déclin des maisons construites au cours du programme Million, mis en œuvre en milieu des années 1960 en Suède pour construire un million de maisons neuves, se transforme en une lecture attentive et poétique de Lisa Torell.