International exhibitions

International Archives 2nd half of 2015


Apparat

Ballroom Marfa, Marfa (USA)

25.09.2015 - 14.02.2016

Précédent Suivant

Français





Apparat, Ballroom Marfa, Marfa

E-Flux Press Release


Ballroom Marfa is proud to present Äppärät, a group exhibition curated by Tom Morton. Äppärät is a show about the mammalian hand, and the tools it touches, holds, and uses. Taking its title from the name of a fictional post-iPhone device at the centre of Gary Schteyngart's 2010 near-future novel Super Sad True Love Story, Äppärät is concerned with labor, play, and the uncertain zone between the two; with the extension of the body, and the self, through technologies both ancient and contemporary; with things (to borrow Martin Heidegger's formulation) "present-at" and "ready-to" hand; with compulsion and death.


 





























© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. All Rights Reserved

Featuring 13 artists from across Europe, the Americas, and Asia, from emerging practicioners to major art historical figures, the exhibition begins with a wall painting by Jessie Flood-Paddock, based on an illustration of a worker operating a loom from Denis Diderot's Encyclopédie (1751–72), one of the first attempts to record and systematize all human knowledge in published form.

From the Stone Age to the digital age, from the pre-human to the post-human, Äppärät suggests not only a neglected history of touch and of tools, but also how this might help us arrive at what Roland Barthes termed in his 1964 essay The Plates of the Encyclopedia, "a certain philosophy of the object." Visitors will encounter implements made by chimpanzees (Damián Ortega) and steel grills stuffed with spent cigarette butts (Marlie Mul); Neolithic hand-axes sitting alongside smart phones (Shimabuku) and anthropomorphic hardware (Lee Lozano); vicious shackles and traps transformed into what appear to be ritual objects (Melvin Edwards) and a meditation on the indivisibility of the holder and the held (Charles Ray). The hand is a recurrent motif, whether encased in cyborg-like armour (Paul Thek), or formed from lifeless stone (Trisha Donnelly).

Roger Hiorns will exhibit his Untitled (2012), a domestic freezer in which visitors are invited to chill their hands, the better to contemplate a series of paintings made with bovine brain matter. Hiorns will also make a new work for Ballroom Marfa's courtyard, while Sophie Jung will create a new body of sculpture and performance work.


In addition to these new works, Äppärät will feature Cécile B. Evans' film installation Hyperlinks or it didn't happen (2014), a meditation on the physicality of data and the digital afterlife, as well as Ed Atkins' Even Pricks (2013), a film in which the human—and simian—hand operates as an index of (digital) attention, the compulsive and destructive "economy of like."


Featured artists: Ed Atkins, Trisha Donnelly, Melvin Edwards, Cécile B. Evans, Jessie Flood-Paddock, Roger Hiorns, Sophie Jung, Lee Lozano, Marlie Mul, Damián Ortega, Charles Ray, Shimabuku, Paul Thek

Curated by Tom Morton

















Exhibition 25 September 2015 - 14  February 2016. Ballroom Marfa, 108 E. San Antonio St. - Marfa, TX 79843 (USA). Hours: Wednesday–Saturday 10am–6pm - Sunday 10am–3pm























 





 











Denis Diderot, Encyclopédie, 1751–72.

Archives 2ème semestre 2015

Apparat

Ballroom Marfa, Marfa (USA)

25.09.2015 - 14.02.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Apparat est une exposition sur la main du mammifère et les outils qu'il touche, détient et utilise. Empruntant son titre à partir au nom d'un dispositif de fiction post-iPhone au centre du roman de science-fiction Super Sad True Love Story (2010) de Gary Schteyngart, Apparat explore le travail, le jeu et la zone incertaine entre les deux; avec l'extension du corps et de l’individu, grâce à des technologies à la fois anciennes et contemporaines, avec des choses (pour reprendre la formulation de Martin Heidegger) "présentes à" et "prêtes à" la main, avec la compulsion et la mort.


































English




Apparat, Ballroom Marfa, Marfa

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. Tous droits réservés

Présentant 13 artistes de toute l'Europe, des Amériques et d'Asie, des plasticiens émergents aux grandes figures historiques de l'art, l'exposition commence avec une peinture murale de Jessie Flood-Paddock, issue d’une illustration de travailleur faisant fonctionner un métier à tisser de l'Encyclopédie de Denis Diderot ( 1751-1772), l'une des premières tentatives pour enregistrer et systématiser toutes les connaissances humaines sous forme de publication.

De l'âge de pierre à l'ère du numérique, du pré-humain au post-humain, Apparat suggère non seulement une histoire négligée de toucher et d'outils, mais aussi comment cela pourrait nous aider à arriver à ce que Roland Barthes appelle dans son essai de 1964 Les planches de l'Encyclopédie, "une certaine philosophie de l'objet." Les visiteurs pourront découvrir des instruments fabriqués par les chimpanzés (Damián Ortega) et des grilles d'acier bourrées de mégots de cigarettes (Marlie Mul); des bifaces néolithiques assis aux côtés de téléphones intelligents (Shimabuku) et du matériel anthropomorphe (Lee Lozano), des manilles et des pièges vicieux transformés en ce qui semble être des objets rituels (Melvin Edwards) et une méditation sur l'indivisibilité du prenant et du tenu (Ray Charles). La main est un motif récurrent, soit enfermé dans une armure semblable à un robot (Paul Thek), ou formé à partir d’une pierre sans vie (Trisha Donnelly).

Roger Hiorns exposera son oeuvre Sans titre (2012), un congélateur domestique dans lequel les visiteurs sont invités à se détendre les mains, pour mieux contempler une série de peintures à base de matière cérébrale bovine. Hiorns fera également une nouvelle œuvre pour la cour de Ballroom Marfa, tandis que Sophie Jung va créer un nouvel ensemble de sculptures et une oeuvre de performance.

Artistes présentés: Ed Atkins, Trisha Donnelly, Melvin Edwards, Cécile B. Evans, Jessie Flood-Paddock, Roger Hiorns, Sophie Jung, Lee Lozano, Marlie Mul, Damián Ortega, Charles Ray, Shimabuku, Paul Thek

Commissaire d’exposition : Tom Morton














Denis Diderot, Encyclopédie, 1751–72.




Exposition du 25 septembre 2015 au 14 février 2016. Ballroom Marfa, 108 E. San Antonio St. - Marfa, TX 79843 (USA). Ouverture du mercredi au samedi de 10h à 18h, le dimanche de 10h à 15h.