Press Release


PAV Parco Arte Vivente presents The God-Trick, a group exhibition curated by Marco Scotini, with which PAV aims to celebrate the ten years of its opening. The exhibition will open in conjunction with an important international conference. Starting with the work of artists who have collaborated with PAV in the past or, in other words, Lara Almarcegui, Michel Blazy, the Critical Art Ensemble, Piero Gilardi, Bonnie Ora Sherk and Nomeda and Gediminas Urbonas, the goal of both the exhibition and the conference is to address (and, furthermore, see as an issue) one of the debates which, over the past few years, has been to the forefront of the international, contemporary art scene: the questions relating to the Anthropocene. This will be a pervasive and choral debate crossing most diverse ambits of knowledge. From science to cultural studies, from philosophy to sound practices, from politics through to the visual arts, a multitude of voices have created a complex interweaving of opinions, theories and pragmatic proposals, beginning with the urgency created by climate change and the environmental modifications of an anthropogenic matrix.











 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


The Gold-Trick

PAV Parco Arte Vivente, Turin (Italy)

05.05 - 21.10.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français








Deutsch






Exhibition May 5 - October 21, 2018. Parco Arte Vivente (PAV), Via Giordano Bruno 31 - 10134 Turin (Italy). T. +39 011 318 2235.



 







 











 





 



























 





 











The Gold-Trick, PAV Parco Arte Vivente, Turin

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved

The God-Trick, exhibition flyer.


The exhibition takes its inspiration from one of the central figures of the debate such as Donna Haraway. Known by most as the mother of Cyber feminism, Haraway has tried to disarticulate every conventional approach to reading the Anthropocene, eventually formulating workable alternatives and metaphors laden with narrative and generative power. Haraway wrote: “We also don’t want to theorize the world, much less act within it, in terms of Global Systems.” On the contrary, this means subjecting any kind of claim to the "objectivizing" of the real to a detailed and prompt exercise of deconstructive analysis, of doubt. This exercise would reveal that which Haraway provocatively defines as “the God-Trick”: a trick based on the illusion of eliminating the body of knowledge. For Haraway, knowledge is always situated knowledge, implanted within and from within a body whose ability to experience things is always determined by a precise burden of memory, a precise burden of history. In turn, this subject, has also been addressed by Jason W. Moore, in relation to the opposing elements of humankind/nature.


From the invitation to Haraway’s situated knowledge, The God-Trick exhibition’s path unfolds: beginning with Nomeda and Gediminas Urbonas’s experiments into alternative energy, by means of the documents relating to the Folk Stone Power Plant. To this is added a relational and collective analysis of the waters with which the Critical Art Ensemble questions the organization of our choices in ecological terms. Lara Almarcegui will be presenting an unpublished formalization of the work Scavo, made at the PAV in 2009, in which revealing the different strata of the earth meant analyzing the past of the area under investigation. We then arrive at the pedagogy of Bonnie Ora Sherk’s Living Library, a systemic framework and methodology for planning the "ecologizing" of specific areas. The exhibition ends with the large external interventions by Michel Blazy and Piero Gilardi. Where Blazy uncovers the unexpected marvels of which nature is capable in its reclaiming of the areas which humankind has appropriated, Gilardi proposes a labyrinthine path aimed at supporting us through the equally labyrinthine perception of the environmental crisis and climate change.


All these works have the role of reminding us that there is nothing natural, nothing objective, nothing inevitable about the processes of capitalist accumulation, thereby encouraging us to go beyond the confines of thoughts that prevent us from seeing any alternative to the system.


Alongside the exhibition’s display area, the subjects proposed by the artists will be at the center of a discursive space articulated over two days of symposium. The aim, once again, is to tackle crucial issues head-on: how much time do we have left before the eco-systemic crisis becomes irreversible? By means of which social, political and cultural norms can we kick-start the profound transformation needed to create an equal and bio-centric society?


The symposium and the exhibition are supported by Compagnia di San Paolo, Fondazione CRT, Regione Piemonte and City of Turin.

Expositions en cours

The Gold-Trick

PAV Parco Arte Vivente, Turin (Italie)

05.05 - 21.10.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

PAV Parco Arte Vivente présente The God-Trick, une exposition collective organisée par Marco Scotini, célébrant les dix ans de son ouverture de PAV. L'exposition s'ouvre en même temps qu'une importante conférence internationale. Introduite par le travail d'artistes qui ont collaboré avec PAV dans le passé tels Lara Almarcegui, Michel Blazy, le Critical Art Ensemble, Piero Gilardi, Bonnie Ora Sherk et Nomeda, Gediminas Urbonas, l'exposition et la conférence doivent aborder (et de plus, aborder comme une problématique) l'un des débats qui, ces dernières années, a été à l'avant-garde de la scène internationale de l'art contemporain: les questions relatives à l'Anthropocène. Ce sera un débat omniprésent et choral traversant la plupart des diverses ambitions de la connaissance. De la science aux études culturelles, de la philosophie aux bonnes pratiques, de la politique aux arts visuels, une multitude de voix ont tissé un entrelacement complexe d'opinions, de théories et de propositions pragmatiques, à commencer par l’urgence créée par le dérèglement climatique et des modifications environnementales d’une matrice anthropogénique.






























 


















































English








ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales Cappadox Festival, Silence - Cappadoce (Turquie)

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. Tous droits réservés

L'exposition s'inspire de l'une des figures centrales du débat, Donna Haraway. Connue par la plupart comme la mère du cyber-féminisme, Haraway a souhaité désarticuler toute approche conventionnelle de lecture de l'Anthropocène, en tentant de formuler des alternatives et des métaphores exploitables chargées de pouvoir narratif et génératif. Haraway a écrit: «Nous ne voulons pas non plus théoriser le monde, encore moins agir avec lui en termes de systèmes globaux». Au contraire, cela signifie soumettre toutes sortes de revendications sur  «l'objectivation» du réel à un l'exercice rapide et détaillé d'analyse déconstructive, de doute. Cet exercice révélerait ce que Haraway définit de façon provocatrice comme "le stratagème de Dieu": une astuce basée sur l'illusion d'éliminer le corpus de la connaissance. Pour Haraway, la connaissance est toujours située dans la connaissance, implantée à l'intérieur et à partir d'un corps dont la capacité à expérimenter les choses est toujours déterminée par un fardeau précis de la mémoire, un fardeau précis de l'histoire. À son tour, ce sujet a également été abordé par Jason W. Moore, en relation avec les éléments opposés de l'humanité et de la nature.


À partir de l'invitation à la connaissance située de Haraway, le parcours de l'exposition God-Trick se déroule: à commencer par les expériences de Nomeda et de Gediminas Urbonas sur l'énergie alternative, au moyen des documents relatifs à la Centrale de Folk Stone. A cela s'ajoute une analyse relationnelle et collective des eaux avec laquelle le Critical Art Ensemble interroge l'organisation de nos choix en termes écologiques. Lara Almarcegui présente une formalisation inédite de l'œuvre Scavo, réalisée au PAV en 2009, dans laquelle révéler les différentes strates de la terre signifiait analyser le passé de la zone étudiée. Nous arrivons ensuite à la pédagogie de la Bibliothèque Vivante de Bonnie Ora Sherk, un cadre systémique et une méthodologie pour planifier «l'écologisation» de zones spécifiques. L'exposition se termine par les grandes interventions extérieures de Michel Blazy et Piero Gilardi. Là où Blazy découvre les merveilles inattendues dont la nature est capable dans sa réappropriation des espaces que l'humanité s'est attribué, Gilardi propose un parcours labyrinthique visant à nous aider à la perception tout aussi labyrinthique de la crise environnementale et du changement climatique.

Toutes ces œuvres ont pour rôle de nous rappeler qu'il n'y a rien de naturel, d'objectif, d'inévitable dans les pratiques d'accumulation capitaliste, et nous encouragent à dépasser les limites des pensées qui nous empêchent de voir une alternative au système.

Parallèlement à l'espace d'exposition de l'exposition, les sujets proposés par les artistes seront au centre d'un espace discursif articulé sur deux jours de symposium. L'objectif, encore une fois, est de s'attaquer de front à des problèmes cruciaux: combien de temps nous reste-t-il avant que la crise éco-systémique ne devienne irréversible? Au moyen de quelles normes sociales, politiques et culturelles pouvons-nous lancer la transformation profonde nécessaire pour créer une société égalitaire et bio-centrique?

Le colloque et l'exposition sont soutenus par la Compagnia di San Paolo, la Fondation CRT, la Région Piémont et la Ville de Turin.





Exposition du 5 mai au 21 octobre  2018. Parco Arte Vivente (PAV), Via Giordano Bruno 31 - 10134 Turin (Italie). Tél.: +39 011 318 2235.





 







 











 





 



























 





 











The God-Trick, exhibition flyer.