International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Quiet Earth

Rauschenberg Project Space, New York (U.S.A.)

15.10 - 30.11.2013


Précédent Suivant

Français



E-Flux Press release


The study of climate change can be understood from one perspective as an anthropocentric reaction to changing volumes—of water, of petroleum, of particulate matter in the air—and as a confrontation of the false dialectic that is created when humans attempt to understand themselves as apart from nature. The concept of “preserving the Earth” is no longer relevant. Environmental action is largely driven by and predicated on the idea of finding ways for humans to continue to exist on this planet.


Quiet Earth, an exhibition curated by Fairfax Dorn as part of Marfa Dialogues/New York, features environmentally engaged works from the 1970s to the present. The exhibition serves as an abstract documentation of the ways that humans have responded to the ecological crises of climate change with scientifically informed aesthetic practices. Quiet Earth is about an awareness of volume: That which we create, that which we consume, and that which may, in turn, consume us.












Exhibition  15 October - 30 November 2013. Rauschenberg Project Space, 455 W. 19th Street – New York, NY (USA). Opening hours: Wednesday-Saturday 11am-6pm.

Quiet Earth, Rauschenberg Project Space, New York

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. All Rights Reserved

Robert Rauschenberg, Summer Knight Glut, 1987. Assembled metal parts, 67.5 x 96 x 9 inches. Courtesy Robert Rauschenberg Foundation. © Robert Rauschenberg/Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY. Photo: Dorothy Zeidman.

Robert Rauschenberg, Summer Knight Glut, 1987. Assembled metal parts, 67.5 x 96 x 9 inches. Courtesy Robert Rauschenberg Foundation. © Robert Rauschenberg/Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY. Photo: Dorothy Zeidman.

Robert Rauschenberg’s 1970 Earth Day Poster is a waypoint that announces the codification of this awareness. Ten years later when Rauschenberg was making Gluts, the assemblages composed of artifacts from the ‘80s-era oil boom in his home state of Texas, he described them as documentation of greed and excess, or "souvenirs without nostalgia." Summer Knight Glut, a 1987 excerpt from this series, marks the effect of a surplus of a natural resource by recombining detritus from its manifestation as consumer product: it is made of gas stations.


A concurrent perspective on volume is inherent in the '80s-era Donald Judd works, architectural plans which document rain catchment systems for desert dwellings, evidence of the ways in which the artist was confronting the scarcity of water in his adopted home in the Chihuahuan Desert of Far West Texas. From the same period, documentation of Hans Haacke’s Rhine Water Purification Plant demonstrates human impact on water systems, while Agnes Denes’ 2005 large-scale Pyramids of Conscience monumentalizes humanity’s relationship with Hudson River water, New York City tap water and oil—all of which are entombed for contemplation via the "pure technology" of the artist’s pyramids.


Maya Lin’s 2011 Silver River – Hudson and 2013 Pin River – Sandy track the waterway as well as the floodplain of Hurricane Sandy across Manhattan, giving materiality to the temporal shape of flood memory. Larry Bamburg’s BurlsHoovesandShells on an Acrylic Rake features a stack of burls taken from redwood, maple, oak and other species of trees that exist on a knife-edge.


Amy Balkin’s A People’s Archive of Sinking and Melting (State: From the Majuro Declaration to COP19 Warsaw) preserves human artifacts from lands that may be lost to rising sea levels—Anvers Island, Venice, New Orleans, Tuvalu, and more—with an echo of Rauschenberg’s melancholy "souvenirs without nostalgia."


Quiet Earth ends with the work of Trevor Paglen, an artist and geographer whose recent projects imagine the overflow of humanity beyond Earth, offering a sobering perspective on the place of our species on this planet, and in the universe at large.


Ballroom Marfa will present "Art for the Third Millenium: Benign Solutions for a New World View," a talk by Agnes Denes, on November 4 at 6pm at the Rauschenberg Project Space. A series of lectures and panel discussions presented by Marfa Dialogues Program and Associate Partners will also take place throughout the exhibition. For a schedule please visit www.marfadialogues.org.

Archives 2ème semestre 2013

ni

Quiet Earth

Rauschenberg Project Space, New York (U.S.A.)

15.10 - 30.11.2013


Précédent Suivant

English



Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


L'étude du changement climatique peut être interprétée depuis une perspective comme une réaction anthropocentrique à l'évolution de volumes - de l'eau, du pétrole, des matières particulaires dans l'air - et comme une confrontation de la fausse dialectique qui est créée quand les humains tentent de s'envisager comme en dehors de la nature. Le concept de préserver la Terre n'est plus pertinent. L'action environnementale repose bien plus largement sur l'idée de trouver des moyens pour l'homme de continuer à exister sur cette planète.

Quiet Earth, une exposition organisée par Fairfax Dorn dans le cadre de Marfa Dialogues / New York, propose des œuvres engagées environnementalement depuis les années 1970 jusqu'à nos jours. Elle présente une documentation résumée de la façon dont les êtres humains ont réagi aux crises écologiques dues au changement climatique avec des pratiques esthétiques scientifiquement éclairées. Quiet Earth agit comme une prise de conscience de volumes : ce que nous créons, ce que nous consommons, et ce qui peut à son tour, nous consumer.











Exposition du 15 octobre au 30 novembre 2013. Rauschenberg Project Space, 455 W. 19th Street – New York, NY (USA). Ouverture du mercredi au samedi de 11h à 18h.




Quiet Earth, Rauschenberg Project Space, New York

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. Tous droits réservés

Robert Rauschenberg, Summer Knight Glut, 1987. Assembled metal parts, 67.5 x 96 x 9 inches. Courtesy Robert Rauschenberg Foundation. © Robert Rauschenberg/Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY. Photo: Dorothy Zeidman.

Robert Rauschenberg, Summer Knight Glut, 1987. Assembled metal parts, 67.5 x 96 x 9 inches. Courtesy Robert Rauschenberg Foundation. © Robert Rauschenberg/Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY. Photo: Dorothy Zeidman.

L'oeuvre Earth Day Poster (1970) de Robert Rauschenberg constitue un repère annonçant la codification de cette prise de conscience. Dix ans plus tard, lorsque Rauschenberg réalisait Gluts, des assemblages composés d'artefacts provenant du boom pétrolier des années 80 - dans son état ​​natal du Texas, il les a décrit comme une documentation de l'avidité et de l'excès, ou des souvenirs sans nostalgie. Summer Knight Glut, un extrait en 1987 de cette série, marque l'effet d'un surplus d'une ressource naturelle par la recombinaison de détritus de sa manifestation en tant que produit de consommation : il est composé de stations d'essence.

Un point de vue simultané sur le volume se retrouve dans les œuvres des années 80 Donald Judd, ldes plans architecturaux qui renseignent sur les systèmes de captage de la pluie pour les logements du désert, preuve de la manière dont l'artiste a été confronté à la rareté de l'eau dans son pays d'adoption, le désert de Chihuahua du Far West Texas. A la même période, le document de Hans Haacke, Rhine Water Purification Plant, révèle l'impact humain sur les réseaux aquatiques, tandis que l'oeuvre de Agnes Denes de 2005, Pyramids of Conscience, souligne de façon monumentale la relation de l'humanité avec l'eau de la rivière Hudson, l'eau du robinet et l'huile de la ville de New York York - tous ensevelis pour la contemplation par la "technologie pure" des pyramides de l'artiste.

Silver River - Hudson (2011 ) et Pin River – Sandy (2013) de Maya Lin suivent la voie d'eau ainsi que la plaine inondable de l'ouragan Sandy à travers Manhattan, offrant une matérialité à l'état temporel de la mémoire des inondations. Les BurlsHoovesandShells on an Acrylic Rake de Larry Bamburg présentent une pile de loupes de séquoia , d'érable, de chêne et d'autres essences d'arbres qui vivent sur le fil du rasoir.

A People's Archive of Sinking and Melting (State : From the Majuro Declaration to COP19 Warsaw) d'Amy Balkin préserve les artefacts humains de terres qui pourraient être englouties à la montée du niveau des eaux - l'île d'Anvers, Venise, New Orleans, Tuvalu et d'autres - avec un écho aux souvenirs sans nostalgie mélancoliques de Rauschenberg.

Quiet Earth s'achève avec l'oeuvre de Trevor Paglen, un artiste et géographe dont les projets récents imaginent le débordement de l'humanité au-delà de la Terre, offrant une perspective qui donne à réfléchir sur la place de notre espèce sur cette planète et dans l'univers au sens large.


Les artistes : Amy Balkin, Larry Bamburg, Agnes Denes, Hans Haacke, Donald Judd, Mayan Lin, Trevor Paglen, Robert Rauschenberg.

Marfa Ballroom présentera "Art pour le 3ème Millenium : Solutions bénignes pour la vision d'un Nouveau Monde", une conférence donnée par Agnes Denes le 4 novembre à 18 heures dans le Rauschenberg Project Space. Une série de conférences et de tables rondes présentées par le Programme des Dialogues Marfa et partenaires associés aura également lieu tout au long de l'exposition. Voir la programmation sur le site
www.marfadialogues.org.