Press Release


K11 Art Foundation (KAF) and chi K11 art museum are delighted to announce Mumbling Mud, an impressive 1,500 sqm exhibition by internationally acclaimed German artist Katharina Grosse, featuring five site-related, immersive installations.


“A painting can land anywhere: on an egg, in the crook of the arm, along a train platform, in snow and ice, or on the beach.” –Katharina Grosse

























 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud

Chi K11 Art Museum, Shanghai (China)

10.11.2018 - 24.02.2019


PrécédentSuivant

Français









Deutsch






Katharina Grosse is known for her use of the spray gun as her primary painting tool to create vast site-related paintings. She has passed strongly coloured swaths of paint across the walls of exhibition rooms, her own bed, a public billboard, an entire house and its surroundings, and different kinds of arranged objects such as piles of soil and tree trunks. Using the spray gun, she has been able to liberate the application of paint from its immediate connection to both the painter’s body and any predetermined surface. With colour she traverses the established borders of objects and architectural settings and creates a dissensual order of reality. Ultimately, Grosse’s painting practice not only reworks the divisions that cut across the visible world and are responsible for its familiar shape, but also the fundamental division between the visible and the invisible. Disregarding established functions, attributions, and hierarchies, her works function as prototypes that prefigure options to organise our lives in novel ways.


Mumbling Mud offers the Chinese audience new interpretations of Grosse’s iconic artistic practice.


Mumbling: an intermediate state between speaking and silence

Mud: an intermediate state between the solid and the liquid.


Divided into five zones at chi K11 art museum, Mumbling Mud leads visitors through an immersive, labyrinthine passage. Upon entering the first zone, they immediately find themselves surrounded by a constructed landscape made up of building materials and piles of soil, all covered with colourful paint. Spectators are invited to meander through the five zones by following the painterly traces that Grosse left when she worked her way through the museum. The amorphous, multicoloured forms and shapes sprayed across the varying structures and draping cloths installed at the museum may also create an experience of wandering on the peripheries of the familiar, inviting rumination into the quintessential strangeness of a metropolis that is ever-changing and impossible to be delineated in simple contours.









Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud, Chi K11 Art Museum, Shanghai

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved

Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud (detail), 2018. Work in progress. © Katharina Grosse and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn.



Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud (detail), 2018. Work in progress. © Katharina Grosse and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn.

Exhibition November 10, 2018 - February 24, 2019. K11 Art Foundation / chi K11 art museum B3, K11 Art Mall, 300 Huaihai Road Central, Huangpu District - Shanghai (China). Hours: Monday–Sunday 10am–8pm

Expositions en cours

Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud

Chi K11 Art Museum, Shanghai (Chine)

10.11.2018 - 24.02.2019

PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

La K11 Art Foundation (KAF) et le chi K11 Art Museum sont ravis d'annoncer Mumbling Mud, une impressionnante exposition sur 1 500 m² de l'artiste allemande de renommée internationale Katharina Grosse, qui présente cinq installations immersives in situ.

«Une peinture peut atterrir n'importe où: sur un œuf, dans le creux d'un bras, sur un quai de gare, dans la neige et la glace, ou sur la plage.» - Katharina Grosse







































 


















































English








Katharina Grosse est connue pour utiliser le pistolet pulvérisateur comme principal outil de peinture pour créer de vastes peintures in situ. Elle a projeté des bandes de peinture vivement colorées sur les murs des salles d’exposition, son propre lit, un panneau d’affichage public, une maison entière et ses environs, ainsi que différents types d’objets disposés, comme des piles de terre et des troncs d’arbres. En utilisant le pistolet pulvérisateur, elle a pu libérer l’application de peinture de sa connexion immédiate au corps du peintre et à toute surface prédéterminée. Avec la couleur, elle franchit les frontières établies des objets et des paramètres architecturaux et crée un ordre dissensuel de la réalité. En fin de compte, la pratique picturale de Katharina Grosse retravaille non seulement les divisions qui traversent le monde visible et sont responsables de sa forme familière, mais aussi la division fondamentale entre le visible et l’invisible. Faisant abstraction des fonctions, attributions et hiérarchies établies, ses œuvres fonctionnent comme des prototypes qui préfigurent des options permettant d’organiser nos vies de manière novatrice.

Mumbling Mud offre au public chinois de nouvelles interprétations de la pratique artistique emblématique de Katharina  Grosse.

Marmonner : un état intermédiaire entre la parole et le silence
Boue : un état intermédiaire entre le solide et le liquide

Réparti en cinq zones au musée d'art chi K11, Mumbling Mud entraîne les visiteurs à travers un passage immersif et labyrinthique. En pénétrant dans la première zone, ils se retrouvent immédiatement entourés d'un paysage construit composé de matériaux de construction et de tas de terre, le tout recouvert de peinture colorée. Les spectateurs sont invités à parcourir les cinq zones en suivant les traces picturales laissées par l’artiste lorsqu’elle a parcouru le musée. Les formes amorphes et multicolores vaporisées sur les diverses structures et draperies installées au musée peuvent également créer une expérience d'errance sur les périphéries de la familière et accueillante régurgitation dans l'étrangeté par excellence d'une métropole en constante évolution et impossible à délimiter par de simples contours.














Exposition du 10 novembre 2018 au 24 février 2019. K11 Art Foundation / chi K11 art museum B3, K11 Art Mall, 300 Huaihai Road Central, Huangpu District - Shanghai (Chine). Ouverture tous les jours (du lundi au dimanche) de 10h à 20h.










 







 











 





 



























 





 











Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud, Chi K11 Art Museum, Shanghai

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. Tous droits réservés

Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud (detail), 2018. Work in progress. © Katharina Grosse and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn.



Katharina Grosse, Mumbling Mud (detail), 2018. Work in progress. © Katharina Grosse and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn.