International exhibitions

International Archives 2nd half of 2015


James Turrell

Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles (USA)

08.11.2015 - 16.01.2016

Précédent Suivant

Français






James Turrell, Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Art-Agenda Press Release


Kayne Griffin Corcoran is pleased to announce an exhibition of new work by James Turrell, his fifth with the gallery over the last decade. The exhibition will include three major, large-scale "Elliptical Glass" works, as well as a selection of unique graphic works taken from Aten Reign, the large work created for the atrium of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in 2013.








 





























© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. All Rights Reserved

The "Elliptical Glass" series, developed out of Turrell's larger group of "Tall Glass" works begun in 2006, was significant in its introduction of a temporal element. Over a two-and-a-half-hour time period, the unique composition sweeps through thousands of different color themes. Across the glass's plane, light gently diffuses to make the shallow space indeterminable to the eye. Vivid combinations of colors seep into and against each other as they slowly shift over time, this change moving so softly as to be at first barely perceptible to the eye.

Turrell elected to work within an elliptical framework, reflecting that "Nature loves the ellipse." The harmony and symmetry of the form also mimic the binocular field of vision of the human eye. The "Elliptical Glass" works draw distinct color palettes combined with studied fluctuations of light and dark hues. This wall-cavity filled with color advances the lineage of abstract art, particularly calling to mind Mark Rothko's Color Field paintings or Ad Reinhardt's black paintings, which for Turrell "brought color out of darkness." In implicating the viewer in the temporal experience of color within the physical and perceptual experience, Turrell turns light into a powerful substance.


The unique prints shown in the South Gallery were created as a form of documentation of the artist's major installation, Aten Reign, at the Guggenheim in 2013. The installation has been described by the museum as "one of the most dramatic transformations of the museum ever conceived." The unique prints capture each developmental stage of light projected in the museum's distinctive curved architecture.

Turrell believes human perception to be his true medium; in his words, "My art is about your seeing." His investigation into this field has extended well beyond the walls of the world's foremost galleries and museums. Since 1972, Turrell has been transforming Roden Crater, a volcanic cinder cone located in northern Arizona, into a monumental work of art. Like the naked eye observatories of civilizations past, Roden Crater is built to reveal and enhance celestial phenomena. The completed and planned construction includes a linked complex of interior and exterior spaces that hold the direct and reflected light of the sun, moon, and stars in such a way as to heighten perception and increase attentiveness to the connection between interior and exterior worlds, the individual and the infinite.

In 2013, Kayne Griffin Corcoran opened its new gallery with major permanent elements conceived by Turrell, including a "Skyspace," illuminating the skylights of the main galleries and the courtyard environment.


















Exhibition 8 November 2015 - 16 January 2016.  Kayne Griffin Corcoran, 1201 S La Brea Ave – Los Angeles, CA 90019 (USA).  



























 





 











James Turrell, Elliptical Wide Glass, 2015. © James Turrell. Courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles.

James Turrell, Elliptical Wide Glass, 2015. © James Turrell. Courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles.

Archives 2ème semestre 2015

James Turrell

Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles (USA)

08.11.2015 - 16.01.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse Art-Agenda


Kayne Griffin Corcoran présente une exposition de nouvelles œuvres de James Turrell, la cinquième avec la galerie au cours de la dernière décennie. L'exposition dévoile trois œuvres monumentales intitulées "Elliptical Glass", ainsi qu'une sélection d'œuvres graphiques originales issues de Aten Règne, œuvre majeure créée pour l'atrium du Musée Solomon R. Guggenheim en 2013.










































English





James Turrell, Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

La série "Elliptic Glass" développée à partir de la plus grande série d'œuvres «  Tall Glass  » par  Turrell en 2006, a été importante pour son introduction d'un élément temporel. Sur un laps de temps de deux heures et demie, la composition initiale balaie des milliers de thèmes de couleurs différentes. A travers la surface du verre, la lumière se diffuse doucement pour produire un espace  profond indéterminable à l'oeil. Les combinaisons de couleurs vives se diffusent les unes dans les autres tout en évoluant lentement dans le temps, avec de mouvements si infimes qu'imperceptibles au premier regard.

Turrell a choisi de travailler dans un cadre elliptique, soutenant que "La nature aime l'ellipse." L'harmonie et la symétrie de la forme imitent aussi le champ de vision binoculaire de l'œil humain. Le "verre elliptique" dessinne des palettes de couleurs distinctes combinées avec des fluctuations étudiées de couleurs sombres et lumineuses. Cette cavité murale remplie de couleurs reprend l'héritage de l'art abstrait, rappelant en particulier les peintures Color Field de Mark Rothko ou les peintures noires de Ad Reinhardt, qui, pour Turrell "ramenait la couleur des ténèbres." En impliquant le spectateur dans l'expérience temporelle de la couleur dans l'expérience physique et perceptive, Turrell transforme la lumière en une substance puissante.


Les tirages uniques présentées dans la galerie sud ont été créés comme une forme de documentation sur l'installation majeure de l'artiste, Aten Règne, au Guggenheim en 2013. L'installation a été décrite par le musée comme «l'une des transformations les plus spectaculaires du musée jamais conçue. " Les tirages uniques capturent chaque stade de développement de la lumière projetée dans l'architecture incurvée distinctive du musée.

Turrell voit la perception humaine comme son véritable média; en ses termes, "Mon art est ce que vous voyez." Ses recherches dans ce domaine se sont étendues bien au-delà des murs des galeries et musées les plus importants du monde. Depuis 1972, Turrell a transformé Roden Crater, un cratère volcanique situé dans le nord de l'Arizona, en une œuvre d'art monumentale. Comme les observatoires à l'œil nu des civilisations passées, Roden Crater est construit pour révéler et renforcer les phénomènes célestes. La construction achevée et planifiée comprend un complexe relié d'espaces intérieurs et extérieurs qui maintiennent la lumière directe et réfléchie du soleil, la lune et les étoiles de manière à accroître la perception et augmenter l'attention à la connexion entre les mondes intérieurs et extérieurs, l'individu et l'infini.

En 2013, Kayne Griffin Corcoran a ouvert sa nouvelle galerie avec les principaux éléments pérennes conçus par Turrell, comme le "Skyspace," qui illumine les fenêtres des principales galeries et l'environnement de la cour.


















Exposition du 8 novembre 2015 au 16 janvier 2016. Kayne Griffin Corcoran, 1201 S La Brea Ave – Los Angeles, CA 90019 (USA).




















 





 












James Turrell, Elliptical Wide Glass, 2015. © James Turrell. Courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles.



© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. Tous droits réservés

James Turrell, Elliptical Wide Glass, 2015. © James Turrell. Courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles.