Press Release


El Anatsui's survey exhibition  Triumphant Scale  at Haus der Kunst—the first ever in Europe—is the most comprehensive and detailed presentation of his oeuvre thus far. The exhibition comprises key works from five decades of the artist's career. At the core of the exhibition, which focuses on the triumphant and monumental nature of El Anatsui's groundbreaking oeuvre, are the bottle-cap works from the last two decades, with their majestic, imposing presence and dazzling colors. The exhibition also presents the lesser known wood sculptures and wall reliefs from earlier creative periods, as well as drawings, prints, and sketchbooks.





























 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


El Anatsui, Triumphant Scale

Haus der Kunst, Munich (Germany)

08.03 - 28.07.2019



PrécédentSuivant

Français
Deutsch









Deutsch






El Anatsui, Triumphant Scale, Haus der Kunst, Munich

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2019. All Rights Reserved

The exhibition reveals the artist's tireless preoccupation with the question of how a contemporary sculptural concept can be developed from the rich plastic innovations of classical and traditional African art. El Anatsui has persistently worked to transform the formal and sculptural possibilities of African sculptural idioms and he has repeatedly revised and reinvented his material and compositional techniques to astonishing effect—from the early wooden reliefs with their incised markings and broken ceramic forms, to the monumental outdoor cement sculptures, and, more recently, the vast and spectacular metal wall and floor works, which blur the boundaries between sculpture, painting and assemblage. In El Anatsui's hands, light, form, color, porousness and corporeality merge into awe-inspiring and triumphant works of art.

El Anatsui’s "Broken Pot" series of the 1970s is characterized by the use of negative space and fragmentation as a structuring principle, and as metaphoric statement about life, history and memory. The wood works from the following decade create intimacy less by their relatively small scale than by their incised markings, inspired by the Adinkra signs of the Akan and Uli motifs of the Igbo, or indigenous West African writing systems, such as Nsibidi, Bamum and Vai scripts. The wood sculptures also have distinctive gestural markings made with the chain saw. The metal works, produced since 2000, dwarf the viewer with their magnificence and imposing scale, while captivating at close range with their jewel-like detail.

As El Anatsui commented in 2003, the use of found materials is of fundamental importance: "I experimented with many materials. I also work with material that has experienced a lot of touch and use by people... and these types of materials and works are more charged than materials or pieces that I have worked with machines. Art grows out of any specific situation, and I think artists should work better with what their environment currently provides."

Fascinated by the museum’s monumental architecture, El Anatsui has created three works especially for this exhibition: two indoor works,  Logoligi Logarithm  and  Rising Sea, and  Second Wave  on the approximately 110m long façade of Haus der Kunst, incorporates several thousand offset printing plates. The plates have been folded, pressed, layered, riveted, bent, curved and welded into 22 panels, each ten meters high and four meters wide, connected by bridging elements. The installation combines a strong physicality with structural indeterminacy. Okwui Enwezor comments that this installation conjures the popular African rule of life that "no condition is permanent."

Curated by Okwui Enwezor and Chika Okeke-Agulu. Assistant Curator: Damian Lentini

An exhibition by Haus der Kunst, Munich, in cooperation with Mathaf Arab Museum of Modern Art, Doha, Museum of Fine Arts, Berne, and Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao.












Exhibiton March 8 - July 28, 2019. Haus der Kunst, Prinzregentenstrasse 1  - 8053 Munich (Germany).  T. +49 89 21127113. Hours: Monday–Sunday 10am–8pm,

Thursday 10am–10pm.











 







 











 





 



























 





 











El Anatsui,  Gravity and Grace,  2010.  Collection of the artist, Nsukka, Nigeria. Courtesy Jack Shainman Gallery, New York.

El Anatsui,  Gravity and Grace,  2010.  Collection of the artist, Nsukka, Nigeria. Courtesy Jack Shainman Gallery, New York.

Expositions en cours

El Anatsui, Triumphant Scale

Haus der Kunst, Munich (Allemagne)

08.03 - 28.07.2019

PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

L'exposition monographique Triumphant Scale d'El Anatsui à la Haus der Kunst - la première en Europe - est la présentation la plus complète et détaillée de son œuvre à ce jour. Elle réunit des oeuvres clés de cinq décennies de carrière de l'artiste. Au coeur de l'exposition, qui met en avant le caractère éclatant et monumental de l’oeuvre novatrice d'El Anatsui, se trouvent les pièces à base de capsules de bouteilles des deux dernières décennies, avec leur présence majestueuse et imposante et leurs couleurs éclatantes. L'exposition présente également des sculptures en bois moins connues et des reliefs muraux de périodes créatives antérieures, ainsi que des dessins, estampes et carnets de croquis.







































 


















































English
Deutsch








Exposition du 8 mars au 28 juillet 2019. Haus der Kunst, Prinzregentenstrasse 1  - 8053 Munich (Allemagne).  Tél.: +49 89 21127113. Ouverture du lundi au dimanche de 10h à 20h, nocturne le jeudi jusqu’à 22h.


 













 







 











 





 



























 





 











L'exposition révèle la préocupation infatigable de l'artiste quant à la manière dont un concept sculptural contemporain peut être développé à partir des riches innovations plastiques de l'art africain classique et traditionnel. El Anatsui a travaillé sans relâche pour transformer les possibilités formelles et sculpturales des idiomes sculpturaux de l'Afrique et il a maintes fois révisé et réinventé ses techniques de matières et de compositions pour produire un effet étonnant - des premiers reliefs en bois avec leurs marquages ​​gravés et leurs formes de céramiques brisées et sculptures de ciment jusqu'à plus récemment, les vastes et spectaculaires oeuvres au mur et au sol en métal, qui brouillent les frontières entre sculpture, peinture et assemblage. Dans les mains d'El Anatsui, la lumière, la forme, la couleur, la porosité et la corporalité se fondent dans des oeuvres d'art impressionnantes et rayonnantes.


La série "Broken Pot" d’El Anatsui des années 1970 se caractérise par l’utilisation de l’espace négatif et de la fragmentation comme principe structurant et comme déclaration métaphorique de la vie, de l’histoire et de la mémoire. Les oeuvres en bois de la décennie suivante sont plus intimistes, moins par leurs dimensions plus réduites que par leurs marques incisées, inspirées des signes Adinkra des motifs akan et uli de l'Igbo, ou des systèmes d'écriture autochtones d'Afrique de l'Ouest, tels les scripts Nsibidi, Bamum et Vai. Les sculptures en bois portent également des marques gestuelles distinctives réalisées à la tronçonneuse. Les oeuvres en métal, fabriquées depuis 2000, surprennent le spectateur par leur magnificence et leur taille imposante, tout en captivant le regard de près avec ses aspects de bijoux.


Comme le commentait El Anatsui en 2003, l’utilisation des objets trouvés est pour lui d’une importance fondamentale: "J’ai expérimenté de nombreux matériaux. Je travaille également avec des éléments qui ont fait l’objet de nombreuses modifications et qui ont été utilisés par les gens ... et ces types de matériaux et d'ouvrages sont plus chargés que d'autres pour lesquels j'ai travaillé avec des machines. L'art découle de toute situation particulière et je pense que les artistes devraient mieux travailler avec ce que leur environnement leur fournit actuellement. "


Fasciné par l’architecture monumentale du musée, El Anatsui a créé trois oeuvres spécialement pour cette exposition: deux oeuvres en intérieur, Logoligi Logarithm et Rising Sea, ainsi que Second Wave sur la façade d’environ 110 m de long de la Haus der Kunst, qui incorpore plusieurs milliers de plaques d’impression offset. Cellles-ci ont été・pliées, pressée, stratifiées, rivetées, cintrées et soudées en 22 panneaux de dix mètres de haut et de quatre mètres de large reliées par des éléments de pontage. L'installation associe une forte physicalité à une indétermination structurelle. Okwui Enwezor précise que cette installation évoque la règle de vie africaine populaire selon laquelle "aucune condition n'est permanente".


Commissariat : Okwui Enwezor et Chika Okeke-Agulu. Conservateur adjoint: Damian Lentini


Cette exposition de la Haus der Kunst à Munich a été organisée en partenariat avec le musée d'art moderne Mathaf, Doha, le musée des Beaux-Arts de Berne et le musée Guggenheim de Bilbao.


















El Anatsui,  Gravity and Grace,  2010.  Collection of the artist, Nsukka, Nigeria. Courtesy Jack Shainman Gallery, New York. El Anatsui, Triumphant Scale, Haus der Kunst, Munich

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2019. Tous droits réservés

El Anatsui,  Gravity and Grace,  2010.  Collection of the artist, Nsukka, Nigeria. Courtesy Jack Shainman Gallery, New York.