International exhibitions

Archives 2nd half of 2013



Daniel Knorr / David Lamelas
Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles (USA)

27.07 - 14.09.2013


Précédent Suivant

Français



Art Agenda Press release


Kayne Griffin Corcoran is pleased to present an exhibition of new work by Berlin-based Romanian artist Daniel Knorr and an exhibition by the Argentine-British-Angelino conceptual artist, David Lamelas.









Tomás Saraceno, Solar Bell, Maasvlakte 2, Rotterdam

In the main gallery, Depression Elevations is Knorr’s first solo exhibition in Los Angeles and includes a series of resin sculptures accompanied by a limited-edition artist book. Knorr explores the surface of Los Angeles in Depression Elevations, a series of resin sculptures cast from impressions of city streets. Knorr’s topographical concern is biopolitical; while infrastructure is produced by the state to facilite connectivity, it also proscribes social movement and imposes parameters upon a population. The city’s vast and complex network of roads leaves and indelible mark upon the wide, flat plane of Los Angeles, begetting a cultural landscape dominated by car culture and urban sprawl.


The hollows of the street, however, worn by the ravages of time and human use, provide a small footprint of the city’s past. In casting from these puddles and potholes, Knorr catches history in his mold, engendering form and substance from a literal void. The resultant sculptures derive an evocative power not from their undeniably beautiful façade, but from the intimate aura of a swiftly fading past.


To mark his inaugural exhibition in Los Angeles, Knorr has produced the ninth edition of Carte de Artiste, his series of global encyclopedias. Titled On Los Angeles, the book takes as its subject the castoffs of our daily lives; Knorr traverses the city streets, seeking out discarded objects and pressing them between the pages of a book. In cataloguing the transitory elements of an urban landscape, Knorr addresses the transformative and destructive complexities of representation.


© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. All Rights Reserved

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast resin. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast polyurethane. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast polyurethane. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast polyurethane. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Also on view in the south gallery and courtyard are works by the Argentine-British-Angelino conceptual artist, David Lamelas. First produced in 1968 at St Martins College of Art in London, the work Signaling of Three Objects dertermines three spaces inside metal circles. In this particular installation, a tree, a chair, and a person encircled by steel plates signal their transformation into the focus of attention. Photo documentation of the original Hyde Park installation is also on display. Additionally, his site-specific Corner Piece from 1968 inverts the angle created by two walls and turns the empty space into volume. Finally, the travelling wall made of paper titled Paredes doblade or Doubled Wall, first made in 1994 while Lamelas was living in Manhattan, was folded and carried in a suitcase and shown in Buenos Aires. In this reinstallation of the idea, a paper cut was made of the 15 x 14 foot West wall, folded box-size and it is now shown on the opposite wall.

Exhibition 27 July - 14 September 2013. Kayne Griffin Corcoran, 1201 South La Brea Avenue - Los Angeles, CA 90019 (USA). Tel.: 310 586 6886. Opening hours : Tuesday - Saturday 10am - 6pm.

Archives 2ème semestre 2013

Daniel Knorr / David Lamelas
Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles (USA)

27.07 - 14.09.2013


Précédent Suivant

English


Communiqué de presse Art Agenda

 

Kayne Griffin Corcoran présente une double exposition des nouvelles œuvres de l’artiste roumain installé à Berlin Daniel Knorr et de l’artiste conceptuel David Lamelas.










Exposition du 27 juillet au 14 septembre 2013. Kayne Griffin Corcoran, 1201 South La Brea Avenue - Los Angeles, CA 90019 (USA). Tél.: 310 586 6886. Ouverture du mardi au samedi de 10h à 18h.



Daniel Knorr / David Lamelas, Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. Tous droits réservés

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast resin. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast polyurethane. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Dans la galerie principale, Depression Elevations constitue la première exposition personnelle de Knorr à Los Angeles et présente une série de sculptures en résine accompagnée d’un livre d’artiste à tirage limité. Knorr explore la surface de Los Angeles avec Depression Elevations, une série de sculptures réalisée à partir d’empreintes des rues de la ville. La préoccupation topographique de Knorr est biopolitique, car alors que l’infrastructure est produite par l’Etat pour faciliter la connectivité, elle proscrit en même temps le mouvement social et impose des paramètres à la population. Le vaste et complexe réseau routier de la ville laisse une marque indélébile sur la carte plate de Los Angeles, engendrant un paysage culturel dominé par le culte de la voiture et l’étalement urbain.

Les creux de la rue, cependant, formés par les affres du temps et l’utilisation humaine, fournissent une petite empreinte du passé de la ville. En coulant ces flaques d’eau et nids de poule, Knorr rattrape l’histoire dans son moule, engendrant forme et substance à partir du vide intégral. Les sculptures qui en résultent portent une puissance évocatrice qui ne provient pas de leur indéniable beauté esthétique, mais de l’aura intime d’un passé rapidement estompé.

Pour célébrer son exposition inaugurale à Los Angeles, Knorr a produit la neuvième édition de la Carte d’artiste, sa série d’encyclopédies globales. Avec pour titre Sur Los Angeles, le livre prend comme objet les déchets de notre vie quotidienne. Knorr arpente les rues de la ville à la recherche des objets mis au rebut qu’il presse entre les pages d’un livre. En répertoriant les éléments transitoires du paysage urbain, Knorr aborde les complexités évolutives et destructrices de la représentation.


Les œuvres de l’artiste conceptuel David Lamelas sont présentées dans la galerie sud et la cour. Initialement produite en 1968 au St Martins College of Art de Londres, son œuvre Signaling of Three Objects détermine trois espaces à l’intérieur de cercles métalliques. Dans cette installation particulière, un arbre, une chaise et une personne, encerclés par des plaques d’acier, attirent l’attention sur leur transformation. La documentation photographique de l’installation d’origine à Hyde Park est également présentée. Par ailleurs, son œuvre in situ Corner Piece (1968) inverse l’angle créé par deux murs et transforme l’espace vide en volume. Enfin, le mur itinérant en papier Paredes doblade ou Doubled Wall, réalisé pour la première fois en 1994, alors que Lamelas vivait à  Manhattan, a été replié et transporté dans une valise pour être montré à Buenos Aires. Dans cette réinstallation du projet, le mur a été découpé suivant les dimensions du mur ouest, plié à la taille de la boîte et il est maintenant affiché sur le mur opposé.

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast polyurethane. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles

Daniel Knorr, Depression Elevations, 2013. Cast polyurethane. Photo courtesy of Kayne Griffin Corcoran, Los Angeles