International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2015


Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain

Centre for Contemporary Art Derry-Londonderry (Northern Island)

07.02 - 21.03.2015

Précédent Suivant

Français




Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain, Centre for Contemporary Art Derry-Londonderry

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. All Rights Reserved

E-flux Press Release


Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain is an exhibition of works by artists who address relationships to the natural world, reframing the natural world as an ecological system that is co-extensive with a broad range of supranatural materials and concepts. The exhibition includes video work, two- and three-dimensional work, as well as plant life, wishful thinking, polystyrenes, a water-cooling system, and a host of other agents.











Exhibition 7 February - 21 March 2015. Centre for Contemporary Art Derry-Londonderry, 10-12 Artillery St - Derry-Londonderry, Northern Ireland BT48 6RG.








 





 











Ciarán Ó Dochartaigh, Point Douglas rehab, 2015. Mixed media. Courtesy of the artist.

Ciarán Ó Dochartaigh, Point Douglas rehab, 2015. Mixed media. Courtesy of the artist.


There are artworks that reference psychoactive plants (Ciarán Ó Dochartaigh, Melanie Bonajo), the automations of Swedish forestry production (Edward Clydesdale Thomson), environments of spiritual enrichment (Veit Laurent Kurz) and morphologies of animal, vegetable, and mineral form (Gemma Anderson). These artistic approaches do more than take the natural world as a passive and addressable "thing" or mute reference. Instead, the natural world is understood here as an active system with incorporating powers of its own. Alongside works by contemporary artists are a selection of prints by photographer Karl Blossfeldt (1865–1932)—close-ups of plant life that simultaneously emphasise the mechanistic structures that exist in nature and the camera's revolutionary powers of magnification.

Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain is curated by Matt Packer (Director, CCA Derry~Londonderry) in two separate versions, at CCA Derry~Londonderry and Lismore Castle Arts St. Carthage Hall, County Waterford. The exhibition title is taken from an album by Pavement.

Archives 1er semestre 2015

Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain

Centre for Contemporary Art Derry-Londonderry (Irlande du Nord)

07.02 - 21.03.2015

Précédent Suivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain présente des œuvres d'artistes qui abordent les relations avec le monde naturel, le recadrant comme un système écologique qui se propage avec une large gamme de matériaux et de concepts supranaturels. L'exposition rassemble des travaux vidéo, des oeuvres en deux et trois dimensions, ainsi que la culture de plantes, pleine d’espoirs, des polystyrènes, un système de refroidissement à l'eau, et une foule d'autres éléments.
























English




Exposition du 7 février au 21 mars 2015. Centre for Contemporary Art Derry-Londonderry, 10-12 Artillery St - Derry-Londonderry, Northern Ireland BT48 6RG.





 





 











Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain, Centre for Contemporary Art Derry-Londonderry
Ciarán Ó Dochartaigh, Point Douglas rehab, 2015. Mixed media. Courtesy of the artist.

Ciarán Ó Dochartaigh, Point Douglas rehab, 2015. Mixed media. Courtesy of the artist.


Certaines œuvres font référence à des plantes psychoactives (Ciarán Ó Dochartaigh, Melanie Bonajo), aux automatismes de la production forestière suédoise (Edward Clydesdale Thomson), aux environnements d'enrichissement spirituel (Veit Laurent Kurz) et aux morphologies d'origine animale, végétale ou de forme minérale (Gemma Anderson). Ces approches artistiques dépassent le fait de prendre le monde naturel comme une « chose» passive ou de référence muette. Au lieu de cela, le monde naturel est entendu ici comme un système actif intégrant ses propres pouvoirs. Aux côtés d'œuvres d'artistes contemporains figure une sélection de tirages du photographe Karl Blossfeldt (1865-1932) - des gros plans de la vie végétale qui mettent l'accent à la fois sur les structures mécanistes qui existent dans la nature et les pouvoirs révolutionnaires d’agrandissement de l’appareil photo.


Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain est organisée par Matt Packer (Directeur du CCA Derry ~ Londonderry) en deux versions distinctes, au CCA Derry ~ Londonderry et au Lismore Castle Arts Saint-Carthage Hall, dans le comté de Waterford. Le titre de l'exposition est tiré d'un album de Pavement.


© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. Tous droits réservés