International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2014


Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…

Offsite Vancouver Art Gallery (Canada)

25.04 - 28.09.2014

Précédent Suivant

Français




Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…, Offsite Vancouver Art Gallery

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. All Rights Reserved

E-Flux Press Release

The Vancouver Art Gallery is pleased to present the latest Offsite project Time to Let Go, a site-specific public installation by Vancouver artist Babak Golkar that encourages viewers to liberate their frustrations by screaming into large terracotta vessels.

Screaming is believed to have a therapeutic effect because it immediately releases tension. Uncontrolled bursts of emotion, however, are inappropriate in most public situations—until now. Golkar's installation presents a socially acceptable opportunity for viewers to literally let go and formulate more effective ways of dealing with raw and natural emotions.




Exhibition  1st May - 30 November 2014. The Glass House, Visitor Center and Design Store, 199 Elm Street - New Canaan, CT 06840 (USA). Hours: Thursday-Monday 9:30am-5:30pm.

 











Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…, 2014. Site-specific installation at Vancouver Art Gallery Offsite, April 25–September 28, 2014. Photo: Rachel Topham, Vancouver Art Gallery.

Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…, 2014. Site-specific installation at Vancouver Art Gallery Offsite, April 25–September 28, 2014. Photo: Rachel Topham, Vancouver Art Gallery.


The project emerges from Golkar's interest in spatial analysis and its relationship to communal space. Responding to the difficulty of viewing art from a distance, he initiates audience engagement by creating practical vehicles for visual and physical interactions. As participants handle the rough-textured pots they are also asked to consider the materiality of ceramic sculpture, an ancient art medium that is characterized by its slow, hand-crafted production—which stands in opposition to the fast-paced, digitally driven world we inhabit today. The scale, form and positioning of the sculptures on top of burlap sandbags evoke references to cannons and trenches used in warfare. Rather than offering destructive means to manage stress and anger, Time to Let Go… presents a constructive alternative to negotiate tensions.

Babak Golkar was born in the United States in 1977, but spent most of his formative years in Iran. He moved to Canada in 1996, where he obtained a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Visual Arts from Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design in 2003 and a Masters of Fine Arts from the University of British Columbia in 2006. Golkar has developed an active career exhibiting his works nationally and internationally. In his practice Golkar juxtaposes dichotomies of tradition and modernity, craft and fine art to find an underlying common ground and an opportunity for multi-layered readings. Such strategies are implemented by exploring how ideas and forms transform in different contexts and how new meanings emerge from recontextualization. Golkar lives and works in Vancouver.

Offsite, the Vancouver Art Gallery's outdoor exhibition space, is dedicated to newly commissioned public art projects and brings innovative contemporary art to a broad audience. Offsite: Babak Golkar is organized by the Vancouver Art Gallery and curated by Diana Freundl, Assistant Curator.

Archives 1er semestre 2014

Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…

Offsite Vancouver Art Gallery (Canada)

25.04 - 28.09.2014

Précédent Suivant

English



Traduction du communiqué de presse e-flux

 

La Vancouver Art Gallery est heureuse de présenter le nouveau projet Offsite de Time to Let Go..., une installation publique in situ de l'artiste canadien Babak Golkar qui encourage les visiteurs à libérer leurs frustrations en criant dans de grands récipients en terre cuite.


Crier est supposé avoir un effet thérapeutique, car cette action libère immédiatement la tension. Des salves incontrôlées d'émotion, cependant, ne sont pas appropriées dans la plupart des lieux publics - jusqu'à présent. L'installation de Golkar présente une occasion socialement acceptable pour le chaland de se laisser littéralement aller et d'utiliser des moyens plus efficaces de gestion de l'émotion brute et naturelle.














© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. Tous droits réservés

Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…, Offsite Vancouver Art Gallery Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…, 2014. Site-specific installation at Vancouver Art Gallery Offsite, April 25–September 28, 2014. Photo: Rachel Topham, Vancouver Art Gallery.

Babak Golkar, Time to Let Go…, 2014. Site-specific installation at Vancouver Art Gallery Offsite, April 25–September 28, 2014. Photo: Rachel Topham, Vancouver Art Gallery.


Le projet ressort de l'intérêt de Bakak Golkar pour l'analyse spatiale et sa relation à l'espace public. En réponse à la difficulté de voir l'art de loin, il initie l'engagement du public en créant des véhicules pratiques pour des interactions visuelles et physiques. Quand les participants utilisent les pots rugueux ils sont également invités à examiner la matérialité de la sculpture en céramique, un médium de l'art ancien qui se caractérise par sa lenteur de production, qui est fait à la main - en opposition au monde numérique en évolution rapide qui nous environne aujourd'hui. L' échelle, la forme et le positionnement des sculptures posées sur des sacs de jute contenant du sable évoquent des références aux canons et aux tranchées utilisées pendant la guerre. Plutôt que d'offrir des moyens destructifs pour gérer le stress et la colère, Time to Let Go... présente une alternative constructive pour gérer les tensions.


Babak Golkar est né aux États-Unis en 1977, mais a passé la plupart de ses années de formation en Iran. Il a immigré au Canada en 1996, où il a poursuivi ses études à l'Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design en 2003 et obtenu une maîtrise en beaux-arts à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 2006. Golkar a développé une carrière active à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Dans sa pratique, Golkar juxtapose les dichotomies de la tradition et de la modernité, de l'artisanat et de l'art, recherchant un terrain d'entente sous-jacent et une opportunité pour des lectures à plusieurs niveaux. Ces stratégies sont mises en œuvre en explorant comment les idées et les formes se transforment dans des contextes différents et comment de nouvelles significations émergent à partir de recontextualisations. Golkar vit et travaille à Vancouver.


Exposition du 25 avril au 28 septembre 2014. Vancouver Art Gallery, 750 Hornby Street - Vancouver BC V6Z 2H7 (Canada).