E-Flux Press Release


For more than 20 years now, Armin Linke's work has dealt with how mankind uses technology and knowledge to transform and develop the Earth's surface to adapt it to its needs. His films and photographs are observations of the changes humans have made to the land, oceans, and biosphere.


An earlier work of Linke's from that field of inquiry, The Anthropocene Observatory, a project by Territorial Agency (John Palmesino and Ann-Sofi Rönnskog) and Anselm Franke, was realized in 2013–14 and documented how scientific and political institutions discuss the issues of climate change, nature conservation, and geology.







 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Armin Linke, Dialogues between ocean floor and water column

Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art, Oldenburg (Germany)

06.07 - 24.09.2017


PrécédentSuivant

Français
Deutsch




Deutsch






Linke accompanies scientists, representatives of leading research institutions, and local actors on their research trips and in their laboratories, to observe their different procedures and show the interconnections that affect all of their activities. Through his lens, we not only gain insight into crucial behind-the-scenes practices and negotiations—such as environmental management strategy making and the rules surrounding the study of mineral resources—but also into the complex processes of science and the scientists' working methods, which Linke renders visually understandable, ultimately arousing wider interest in important current oceanic research.


Inspired by Alien Ocean, a captivating book by anthropologist Stefan Helmreich on microbial oceanography, Linke met key actors and influential experts from the marine sciences. His interview subjects include marine biologist Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, of the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research in Bremerhaven, and marine geologist Prof. Dr. Gerold Wefer, of the IODP Bremen Core Repository- MARUM in Bremen, and he filmed on location at the Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment at Carl von Ossietzky University in Oldenburg.


We review the expeditions undertaken by Prof. Dr. Ann Vanreusel and Prof. Dr. Peter Schupp onboard the research vessel Sonne, and Dr. Matthias Haeckel explains one of the world's leading marine sciences institutes GEOMAR - Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research in Kiel. In the laboratories of RWTH Aachen University, processing concepts and solutions for marine mineral resources are explored, while geophysicist Dr. Volker Steinbach of the German Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources expounds upon questions of marine resource exploration. Dr. Alexander Proel, professor of law shares the focus of future legal regulative issues from international law and sea-level rise to the regulations of marine genetic resources.


Erik van Doorn, law expert, from the Walther-Schücking-Institut for Internationale Law of the Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel explains the historical developments of the Law of the Sea starting from the 16th century.


Dr. Ursula Röhl, Marine geologist, shows the procedures at the International core repository at the University of Bremen, part of the Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, containing 154 km of deep-sea cores from 89 expeditions in around 250,000 boxes.


In collaboration with the video archives of the GEOMAR, Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and Marum, Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, Bremen, Armin Linke edited film footage from several scientific expedition where high-tech underwater Remote Sensing Vehicle was used. The operational images edited in a four-screen immersive composition presents the ROV Footage as a choreography, where the video-camera and the complex geological and biological operations of robotics arms, at a depth of often deeper than 5000 meters operate, like extensions of the pilots and the body of the scientists in a suspended and distant space. The idea of an empty deep water oceanographic space is contradicted by the encounters mediated through the visualization technology.


Rather than giving answers, Linke's project raises questions-the matter of how to design our planet's future. Addressing issues of deep sea mining, biodiversity, the common heritage of mankind, sustainability objectives, and environmental strategy, as well as discussions and negotiations on questions surrounding key regulations, its aim is to serve as a tool in the creation of visualization to aid understanding and possibly to create new awareness on the topic of the oceans.


Oceans is an official project of the Year of Science 2016*17—Seas and Oceans, a program of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The project was commissioned and co-funded by Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporaiy (TBA21), Vienna.













 







Armin Linke, OZEANE. Dialoge zwischen Meeresgrund und Wassersäule / OCEANS. Dialoges between ocean floor and water column, 2017. Multimedia installation. Courtesy of the artist. © ROV Video Archive Material GEOMAR - Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen.





Exhibition 6 July - 24 September 2017. Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art, Katharinenstraße 23 - 26121 Oldenburg (Germany). Tel.: 0441 235-3208. Hours: Tue-Fri 14:00 - 18:00, Sa-Su 11:00 - 18:00.













 





 



























 





 











Armin Linke, OZEANE. Dialoge zwischen Meeresgrund und Wassersäule / OCEANS. Dialoges between ocean floor and water column, 2017. Multimedia installation. Courtesy of the artist. © ROV Video Archive Material GEOMAR - Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen. Armin Linke, Dialogues between ocean floor and water column

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

Expositions en cours

Armin Linke, Dialogues entre le fond de l’océan et la colonne d’eau

Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art, Oldenburg (Allemagne)

06.07 - 24.09.2017

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux

 

Depuis plus de 20 ans, le travail d'Armin Linke porte sur la manière dont l'humanité utilise la technologie et les connaissances pour transformer et développer la surface terrestre en fonction de ses besoins. Ses films et ses photographies fournissent des observations sur les changements effectués par les humains dans les terres, les océans et la biosphère.

Un travail antérieur de Linke à partir de ce champ d'investigation, The Anthropocene Observatory, projet de l'Agence territoriale (John Palmesino et Ann-Sofi Rönnskog) et d’Anselm Franke, a été réalisé en 2013-14 pour montrer comment les institutions scientifiques et politiques abordent les problèmes du changement climatique, de la conservation de la nature et de la géologie.















 


















































English
Deutsch





Dans son nouveau projet, Oceans, Linke plonge dans les mondes de l'océan ouvert et des grands fonds à un moment historique où la recherche sur ces royaumes - incluant la haute mer, la mer profonde et les fonds marins - a gagné en importance comme jamais auparavant.

Linke accompagne les scientifiques, les représentants des principaux établissements de recherche et les acteurs locaux lors de leurs voyages de recherche et dans leurs laboratoires, pour observer leurs diverses pratiques et montrer les interconnexions qui affectent l'ensemble de leurs activités. Grâce à son angle de vue, nous comprenons non seulement les pratiques et les négociations cruciales en coulisses, comme la stratégie de gestion de l'environnement et les règles entourant l'étude des ressources minérales, mais aussi les processus complexes de la science et les méthodes de travail des scientifiques, ce que Linke rend visuellement compréhensible, suscitant finalement un intérêt plus large pour la importante recherche océanique actuelle.

Inspiré par Alien Ocean, un livre captivant de l'anthropologue Stefan Helmreich sur l'océanographie microbienne, Linke a rencontré des acteurs clés et des experts influents dans les sciences de la mer. Il s’est entretenu avec le biologiste marin Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius de l'Institut Alfred Wegener, le Centre Helmholtz pour la recherche polaire et marine à Bremerhaven, et le géologue marin Prof. Dr. Gerold Wefer, du référentiel de base de l'IODP Bremen - MARUM à Brême, et a réalisé des films à l'Institut de chimie et de biologie du milieu marin à l'Université Carl von Ossietzky, Oldenburg.

Nous étudions les expéditions menées par la Prof. Dr. Ann Vanreusel et le Prof. Dr. Peter Schupp à bord du navire de recherche Sonne, et le Dr Matthias Haeckel évoque l'un des principaux instituts de sciences marines du monde GEOMAR – le Helmholtz Center for Ocean Research à Kiel. Dans les laboratoires de l'Université de RWTH Aachen, les concepts de traitement et les solutions pour les ressources minérales marines sont explorés, tandis que le géophysicien Dr. Volker Steinbach, de l'Institut fédéral allemand des géosciences et des ressources naturelles, expose les problématiques d'exploration des ressources marines. Le docteur Alexander Proel, professeur de droit, partage son attention sur les futurs problèmes réglementaires juridiques du droit international, de l'élévation du niveau de la mer aux règlements des ressources génétiques marines.

Erik van Doorn, expert en droit du Walther-Schücking-Institut for Internationale Law de l'Université Christian-Albrechts à Kiel, évoque les développements historiques du droit de la mer à partir du 16ème siècle. La Dre Ursula Röhl, géologue marine, présente les procédures au référentiel central international de l'Université de Brême, qui fait partie du programme intégré de forage océanique, qui contient 154 km de carottes profondes provenant de 89 expéditions dans environ 250 000 boîtes.

En collaboration avec les archives vidéo du GEOMAR, le Centre Helmholtz pour la recherche océanique Kiel et Marum, Centre pour les sciences de l'environnement marin de Brème, Armin Linke a édité des séquences cinématographiques sur plusieurs expéditions scientifiques où le véhicule de télédétection sous-marin de haute technologie a été utilisé. Les images opérationnelles éditées dans une composition immersive à quatre écrans présentent la séquence ROV comme une chorégraphie, où la caméra vidéo et les opérations géologiques et biologiques complexes des bras robotiques, fonctionnent,à une profondeur de plus de 5000 mètres, comme des extensions des pilotes et des corps des scientifiques dans un espace suspendu et distant. L'idée d'un espace océanographique en eau profonde vide est contredite par les rencontres médiatisées par la technologie de visualisation.

Plutôt que de donner des réponses, le projet de Linke soulève des questions - celles de savoir comment concevoir l'avenir de notre planète. S'attaquer aux problèmes de l'exploitation minière en profondeur, de la biodiversité, du patrimoine commun de l'humanité, des objectifs de durabilité et de la stratégie environnementale, ainsi que des discussions et des négociations sur les questions entourant les réglementations clés, vise à servir d'outil dans la création d’une visualisation pour faciliter la compréhension et peut-être créer une nouvelle prise de conscience sur le thème des océans.

Oceans est un projet officiel de l'Année de la Science 2016 * 17 - Mers et Océans, un programme du Ministère Fédéral Allemand de l’Education et de la Recherche. Ce projet a été commandé et co-fondé par Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary (TBA21), Vienne.




Exposition du 6 juillet au 24 septembre 2017. Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art, Katharinenstraße 23 - 26121 Oldenburg (Allemagne). Tel.: 0441 235-3208. Ouverture du mardi au vendredi de 14h à 18h, samedi et dimanche de 11h à 18h.












 





 



























 





 











ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

Armin Linke, OZEANE. Dialoge zwischen Meeresgrund und Wassersäule / OCEANS. Dialoges between ocean floor and water column, 2017. Multimedia installation. Courtesy of the artist. © ROV Video Archive Material GEOMAR - Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen.





Armin Linke, OZEANE. Dialoge zwischen Meeresgrund und Wassersäule / OCEANS. Dialoges between ocean floor and water column, 2017. Multimedia installation. Courtesy of the artist. © ROV Video Archive Material GEOMAR - Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen. Armin Linke,  Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art, Oldenburg

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. Tous droits réservés