Press Release


Crossing at Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken is the first major solo exhibition dedicated to the work of German artist Helga Griffiths (b. 1959 in Ehingen/Donau). Her multimedia and multisensory space installations (comprising sound, video, and scent) explore the boundaries between art, science and technology. Audience interaction is as important as the site-specific character of these works. This exhibition at Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken showcases all facets of Griffiths' oeuvre.










 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Helga Griffiths, Crossing

Stadtgalerie, Saarbrücken (Germany)

22.09.2017 - 14.01.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français
Deutsch




Deutsch






For over 20 years, Helga Griffiths' work has explored the boundary between human nature and environment. In multisensory installations, she researches the thresholds and limits of human perception through artistic and scientific means. These include spectacular works like a flight across the glacial landscape of her own brain she created in close collaboration with the Max Planck Institute for Brain Research in Frankfurt.


Her works are based on the concept of an "experiential space"—a multidimensional and multisensory space designed to evoke memories, feelings, and ideas in observers, or to confront them with visual, sonic, olfactory, or haptic stimuli that stem from the artist's own realm of experience. Griffiths' work often employs a special technique: the artist takes information that we perceive through one sense (e.g., sight or hearing) and transfers it to a different sense (e.g., smell). In this way, she creates a dialogue that unfolds on a subliminal, intuitive plane—one that is capable of transcending and expanding conventional sensory experience.














 







Exhibition 22 September 2017 - 14 January 2018. Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken, St. Johanner Markt 24 - 66111 Saarbrücken
(Germany). Tel.: +49 681 9051842. Hours: Tuesday–Friday 12–6pm, Saturday – Sunday 11am–6pm.






 











 





 



























 





 











Helga Griffiths, Crossing, Stadtgalerie, Saarbrücken

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

Expositions en cours

Helga Griffiths, Crossing

Stadtgalerie, Saarbrücken (Allemagne)

22.09.2017 - 14.01.2018

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse

 

Crossing à la Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken est la première grande exposition personnelle consacrée au travail de l'artiste allemande Helga Griffiths (née en 1959 à Ehingen / Donau). Ses installations spatiales multimédia et multisensorielles (intégrant le son, la vidéo et le parfum) explorent les frontières entre l'art, la science et la technologie. L'interactivité du public est aussi importante que le caractère in situ de ces oeuvres. Cette exposition à Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken présente toutes les facettes de l'œuvre de Griffiths.




















 


















































English
Deutsch





Depuis plus de 20 ans, le travail d'Helga Griffiths a exploré la frontière entre la nature humaine et l'environnement. Dans ses installations multisensorielles, elle explore les seuils et les limites de la perception humaine avec des moyens artistiques et scientifiques. Ceux-ci incluent des oeuvres spectaculaires comme un vol à travers le paysage glacial de son propre cerveau, qu’elle a créé en étroite collaboration avec l'Institut Max Planck pour la recherche sur le cerveau à Francfort.

Ses œuvres sont basées sur le concept d'un «espace d’expérience» - un espace multidimensionnel et multisensorial conçu pour évoquer des souvenirs, des sentiments et des idées dans des observateurs, ou pour les confronter à des stimuli visuels, sonores, olfactifs ou haptiques issus de la propre expérience de l'artiste. Le travail de Griffiths emploie souvent une technique spéciale: l'artiste prélève des informations que nous percevons à travers un seul sens (par exemple, la vue ou l'ouïe) et les transfère à un sens différent (par exemple, l'odorat). De cette façon, elle crée un dialogue qui se déroule sur un plan subliminal et intuitif, capable de transcender et d'élargir l'expérience sensorielle conventionnelle.






 











Perpétuelle incertitude, Z33, Hasselt (Belgique)

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. Tous droits réservés

ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

Exposition du 22 septembre 2017 au 14 janvier 2018. Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken, St. Johanner Markt 24 - 66111 Saarbrücken (Allemagne). Tél.: +49 681 9051842. Ouverture du mardi au vendredi de 12h à 18h, samedi et dimanche de 11h à 18h.