E-Flux Press Release


Lithuanian artist Augustas Serapinas presents Four Sheds, a site-specific installation at the Fogo Island Gallery that reconfigures an abandoned shed into another form of container. Presented as part of Fogo Island Arts’ emerging artist exhibition series, Four Sheds evokes a history of materials, techniques and traditions, and the human processes embedded within them.






 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds

Fogo Island Gallery (Canada)

23.12.2016 - 02.04.2017


PrécédentSuivant

Français




Deutsch






Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds, Fogo Island Gallery

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

Every shed has a purpose. Across Fogo Island and Newfoundland, small-scale peak-roofed structures are used for storing firewood and fishing nets, for gutting and cleaning fish, repairing boats or amassing junk. Commonplace, vernacular wooden structures, they nonetheless contain within them a modest history of culture and material usage.


With help from three members of the community, Serapinas dismantled an existing shed on Barr’d Islands, Fogo Island, that was destined to be torn down. According to local knowledge, the shed was in fact the third iteration of a similar structure, a slightly different configuration of wooden boards, nails and shingles assembled according to need. Over time, more contemporary additions such as vinyl siding, wallpaper-covered panels and a discarded front door had been integrated with older wooden materials. Thus cobbled together, the shed reflects a natural and economic reuse of materials, a resourcefulness borne of necessity.


Taken from the original site to the Fogo Island Gallery, the materials of the Barr’d Islands shed are once again reassembled into a new structure that bears its history in peeling paint, handwritten measurements, and notched surfaces.


From a frontal perspective, the new construction resembles a shed, but viewed at an angle it is deceptively shallow. Its shape and size have been determined according to a new purpose and context. The structure’s width ensures it fits through the doors of the gallery, and it is long enough to contain the leftover boards, roof trusses, posts and steps. At the end of the exhibition, the shed’s roof will be removed and stored inside it, transforming the structure into a shipping crate that will travel from Fogo Island to Europe, where it will be dismantled and rebuilt again into other shed-like forms. Like a traveller or immigrant who brings traditions and skills from home and adapts them to a new situation, the shed will take on another life that is dependent on its context.


There is of course an element of the absurd in building and shipping a large crate made from its constituent parts. The initiative calls to mind Jorge Luis Borges’ story of exacting cartographers whose map of their empire matched precisely the scale of the original, a map that would later be seen as irreverent, and then abandoned to the elements.


Yet Serapinas’ work is not a perfect replica of the original. His reconfiguration of the shed is an act of heritage preservation in which he saves a traditional building destined for demolition. This form of preservation does not fix the shed as an artifact, stifling any future development. The shed/crate is in keeping with building and material traditions on Fogo Island that are at once driven by necessity and open to future purposes. In this way, the work employs a form of appropriation and reuse that affirms cultural traditions as ever evolving.


The foreshortened proportions of Four Sheds also speak to the broader problematics of representation, wherein any sign or symbol of a thing is potentially a reduction of the original, and its interpretation is mediated by cultural context and individual perspective. Serapinas’ work is ultimately a modest gesture that speaks of larger things: of place, of shared understandings, of labour and exchange, of material and immaterial things and the structures we build to contain them.


The exhibition is curated by Alexandra McIntosh (Director of Programs and Exhibitions, Fogo Island Arts) and Nicolaus Schafhausen (Director, Kunsthalle Wien and Strategic Director, Fogo Island Arts).














 







Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds, Barr's Islands shed, Fogo Island, 2016. Image courtesy the artist

and Fogo Island Arts.





Exhibition 2 December 2016 - 02 April 2017. Fogo Island Arts , 210 Main Street, Joe Batt’s Arm
Fogo Island Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2X0
(Canada).













 





 



























 





 











Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds, Barr's Islands shed, Fogo Island, 2016. Image courtesy the artist

Expositions en cours

Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds

Fogo Island Gallery (Canada)

23.12.2016 - 02.04.2017

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


L'artiste lituanien Augustas Serapinas présente Four Sheds, une installation in situ à la Fogo Island Gallery qui reconfigure un hangar abandonné dans une autre forme de conteneur. Présenté dans le cadre de la présentation d'expositions d'artistes émergents de Fogo Island Arts, Four Sheds évoque une histoire de matériaux, de techniques et de traditions, ainsi que les processus humains qui s'y rattachent.











































English





Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds, Fogo Island Gallery

Chaque hangar a une utilisation. À travers l'île Fogo et Terre-Neuve, on utilise des structures à toit bas pour entreposer du bois de chauffage et des filets de pêche, éviscérer et nettoyer du poisson, réparer des bateaux ou amasser des bricoles. Les structures en bois ordinaires, vernaculaires portent néanmoins une modeste histoire de culture et d'utilisation matérielle.

Avec l'aide de trois membres de la communauté, Serapinas a démantelé un hangar existant sur Barr'd Islands, Fogo Island, qui était voué à la démolition. Selon les connaissances locales, le hangar était en fait la troisième itération d'une structure similaire, une configuration légèrement différente de planches de bois, de clous et de bardeaux assemblés selon les besoins. Au fil du temps, des ajouts plus contemporains comme le revêtement de vinyle, les panneaux revêtus de papier peint et une porte ont été intégrés à des matériaux en bois plus anciens. Ainsi assemblé, le hangar reflète une réutilisation naturelle et économique des matériaux, une ingéniosité due à la nécessité.

Les matériaux de l'îlot Barr'd ont été reconstruits dans une nouvelle structure qui porte son histoire dans la peinture écaillée, les mesures manuscrites et les surfaces entaillées.

D'un point de vue frontal, la nouvelle construction ressemble à un hangar, mais vue d’un autre angle, elle est trompeusement superficielle. Sa forme et sa taille ont été déterminées pour un nouveau but et un nouveau contexte. La largeur de la structure garantit qu'elle passe à travers les portes de la galerie, et sa longueur permet de contenir les planches restant, les fermes de toit, les poteaux et les marches. À la fin de l'exposition, le toit de la remise sera enlevé et entreposé à l'intérieur, transformant la structure en une caisse d'expédition qui se déplacera de l'île de Fogo en Europe, où elle sera démantelée et reconstruite dans d'autres formes de hangar. Comme un voyageur ou un immigrant qui apporte des traditions et des compétences de chez lui et les adapte à une nouvelle situation, le hangar entamera une autre vie qui dépendra du contexte.

Il y a bien sûr un élément absurde dans la construction et l'expédition d'une grande caisse faite à partir de ses éléments constitutifs. L'initiative rappelle le récit de Jorge Luis Borges sur des cartographes exigeants dont la carte de leur empire correspondait exactement à l'échelle de l'original, une carte qui serait plus tard irrévérencieuse, puis abandonnée aux éléments.

Cependant, l'œuvre de Serapinas n'est pas une réplique parfaite de l'original. Sa reconfiguration du hangar est un acte de préservation du patrimoine dans lequel il sauve un bâtiment traditionnel destiné à la démolition. Cette forme de conservation ne fixe pas le hangar comme un artefact, étouffant tout développement futur. Le hangar / cage est en accord avec la construction et les traditions matérielles sur l'île Fogo qui sont à la fois mues par la nécessité et ouvertes à des objectifs futurs. De cette manière, l’oeuvre utilise une forme d'appropriation et de réutilisation qui affirme que les traditions culturelles évoluent toujours.

Les proportions raccourcies de Four Sheds parlent aussi de la problématique plus large de la représentation, où tout signe ou symbole d'une chose est potentiellement une réduction de l'original et son interprétation médiatisée par le contexte culturel et la perspective individuelle. Le travail de Serapinas est finalement un geste modeste qui parle de choses plus vastes: du lieu, des compréhensions partagées, du travail et de l'échange, des choses matérielles et immatérielles et des structures que nous construisons pour les contenir.

L'exposition est organisée par Alexandra McIntosh (directrice des programmes et expositions, Fogo Island Arts) et Nicolaus Schafhausen (directeur, Kunsthalle Wien et directeur stratégique, Fogo Island Arts).


ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds, Barr's Islands shed, Fogo Island, 2016. Image courtesy the artist

and Fogo Island Arts.





Augustas Serapinas, Four Sheds, Barr's Islands shed, Fogo Island, 2016. Image courtesy the artist

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. Tous droits réservés

Exposition du 2 décembre 2016 au 02 April 2017. Fogo Island Arts , 210 Main Street, Joe Batt’s Arm
Fogo Island Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2X0
(Canada).